Old 09-11-2013, 01:17 PM   #1
tbelton
Member
 
tbelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 62
Default Geotagging Question

I am considering purchasing a GPS for my camera. Does anyone know if the image has the coordinatates in the EXIF data, will it automatically add the location to the photo location map? I've done some searching and haven't really found any current posts on this.

Thanks
tbelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:12 PM   #2
CSX1702
Senior Member
 
CSX1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbelton View Post
I am considering purchasing a GPS for my camera. Does anyone know if the image has the coordinatates in the EXIF data, will it automatically add the location to the photo location map? I've done some searching and haven't really found any current posts on this.

Thanks
As far I know (which may not be very far,) no. You'd have to that yourself. Its very easy though.
__________________
Derek

Flickr

Out Of Place Album
CSX1702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:36 PM   #3
tbelton
Member
 
tbelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 62
Default

yes, I have added the location to each of mine. It's just sometime when I go to places I'm not very familiar with I can't always remember the exact location. Of course, geotagging would help me with this anyway for me to manually add the location for this site.

Thanks.
tbelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:37 PM   #4
EMTRailfan
Senior Member
 
EMTRailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I can be found railfanning the abandoned B&O Northern Sub.
Posts: 1,452
Default

I would imagine that the coords. would be contained in the EXIF since it is in smart phone pics until you disable it. As far as carrying over to the map, I am with Derek.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth 1000 Words. A Memory Is Worth 1000 Pictures.
EMTRailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 11:01 PM   #5
CSX1702
Senior Member
 
CSX1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbelton View Post
yes, I have added the location to each of mine. It's just sometime when I go to places I'm not very familiar with I can't always remember the exact location. Of course, geotagging would help me with this anyway for me to manually add the location for this site.

Thanks.
Yeah I've had that problem myself. I'd suggest writing down where you're at.

Photo maps aren't that important anyway.
__________________
Derek

Flickr

Out Of Place Album
CSX1702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:05 PM   #6
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbelton View Post
yes, I have added the location to each of mine. It's just sometime when I go to places I'm not very familiar with I can't always remember the exact location. Of course, geotagging would help me with this anyway for me to manually add the location for this site.

Thanks.
Taking extra pictures of signals, control boxes, switch stands number posts and street signs is also a fast way to id the spot.

Later you delete all those extra shots.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:54 PM   #7
tytrain
Member
 
tytrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSX1702 View Post
Photo maps aren't that important anyway.
Actually I'm very happy to see them used, as they can tip me off to good photo locations I wouldn't otherwise know about. Especially if it's a different angle of a regular destination, or a place I thought wasn't publicly accessible (now sometimes you learn the photographer was trespassing, but sometimes you find the road you hadn't see or some such )
__________________
my photos
tytrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:05 PM   #8
EMTRailfan
Senior Member
 
EMTRailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I can be found railfanning the abandoned B&O Northern Sub.
Posts: 1,452
Default

Image © John Ryan
PhotoID: 274503
Photograph © John Ryan

I knew that John had an iPhone photo in the DB, but I had a heck of a time finding it. Here is the EXIF data through RP that shows the GPS coords:
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...xif=1#exifshow
__________________
A Picture Is Worth 1000 Words. A Memory Is Worth 1000 Pictures.
EMTRailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:51 PM   #9
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EMTRailfan View Post
Here is the EXIF data through RP that shows the GPS coords:
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...xif=1#exifshow
Isn't the question or part of the question whether or not the RP database automatically picks up the GPS coordinates from the file? I don't think it does, could be wrong. I'm pretty sure John's shot is from before the map feature was added so the lack of a map there is not an indication.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:00 PM   #10
CSX1702
Senior Member
 
CSX1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tytrain View Post
Actually I'm very happy to see them used, as they can tip me off to good photo locations I wouldn't otherwise know about. Especially if it's a different angle of a regular destination, or a place I thought wasn't publicly accessible (now sometimes you learn the photographer was trespassing, but sometimes you find the road you hadn't see or some such )
I just meant that they aren't something to die for.
__________________
Derek

Flickr

Out Of Place Album
CSX1702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:19 PM   #11
EdKrimmer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 15
Default

A cheap tip I use - take a "selfie" (or any picture I suppose) at each location with a location enabled smartphone. You can later extract the GPS from it. My Nikon app provides a "copy/paste" GPS option. I match time stamps and then update my camera shots afterwards.
EdKrimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:09 PM   #12
Mark T
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 92
Default

No - rp.net does not recognise the GPS data automatically. I've just bought a Canon 6D which comes with GPS stamping built in. When I upload my photos to Flickr it maps them accordingly but rp.net still requires me to map them manually. That was on an image uploaded last week so is very recent.

Hope that helps.
__________________
My Railpictures.net

My flickr
Mark T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:50 PM   #13
tbelton
Member
 
tbelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T View Post
No - rp.net does not recognise the GPS data automatically. I've just bought a Canon 6D which comes with GPS stamping built in. When I upload my photos to Flickr it maps them accordingly but rp.net still requires me to map them manually. That was on an image uploaded last week so is very recent.

Hope that helps.
Thanks for your reply and all the others. Hopefully sometime in the future it will automatically add the map location as more camera models include the GPS built-in.

Trey
tbelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.