Old 10-18-2009, 05:44 AM   #1
jdirelan87

Default Flash Drives for long term media storage?

All,

I've been looking for new ways to back up my photos. Large capacity (64GB) flash drives have caught my attention. I have some experience with flash drives, but have never used them for anything other than temporary storage. I'm not the most tech savvy guy, so I was wondering if anybody here knew if flash drives are a good fit for long term storage (i.e., does the information corrupt overtime, etc)? Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks,
John

Last edited by jdirelan87; 10-18-2009 at 05:53 AM.
jdirelan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 05:47 AM   #2
Christopher Muller

Seems they should be ok, why else would they make one with such huge storage ability for temporary files. I havent had any problems with flash drives, other than they do not work very well when they get put through the wash and dryer.
Christopher Muller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:20 AM   #3
sd9

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdirelan87 View Post
All,

I've been looking for new ways to back up my photos. Large capacity (64GB) flash drives have caught my attention. I have some experience with flash drives, but have never used them for anything other than temporary storage. I'm not the most tech savvy guy, so I was wondering if anybody here knew if flash drives are a good fit for long term storage (i.e., does the information corrupt overtime, etc)? Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks,
John
John, I watched a co-worker (an IT guy) grab his flash drive one day and heard the snap from a static charge, he put it in to find that it wouldn't even recognize it, not to mention all the data was lost, so I guess if your going to use one make sure your grounded I use a DVD and make two copies and keep them in separate areas, in case of fire, theft etc... here's a link to check out about it,
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/d...rage-media.pdf

Bill