Old 01-21-2014, 10:37 PM   #1
coaststarlight14
Senior Member
 
coaststarlight14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 219
Default Too much sky?

Got bad cropping for this one a couple times, I'm guessing still too much sky? Should i bother trying to crop around the tree more to get less of the sky in or just leave it for Flickr?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...12&key=1120724
__________________
"Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you up on the wall"

Photos on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=39940
coaststarlight14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:28 PM   #2
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

The train is very blurry and I doubt you can fix this.

They probably don't like all that sky, but that is necessary for the tree.

I think this one might be an "other" unless you can find an artistic minded screener - assuming you can get the train in focus.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:44 PM   #3
coaststarlight14
Senior Member
 
coaststarlight14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holloran Grade View Post
The train is very blurry and I doubt you can fix this.
Yeah i noticed that too on the RP image, but looking in Photoshop it looks fine. It must be the way I'm converting it from PSD to JPEG. Anyone want to chip in and tell me how I SHOULD be doing it?

As for the cropping I'll appeal using the tree as an excuse but i doubt anyone will accept that as a valid one
__________________
"Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you up on the wall"

Photos on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=39940
coaststarlight14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:48 PM   #4
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coaststarlight14 View Post
It must be the way I'm converting it from PSD to JPEG. Anyone want to chip in and tell me how I SHOULD be doing it?
Save As, JPG, 12.

Last edited by JimThias; 01-22-2014 at 02:03 AM. Reason: forgot the "As"
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 12:48 AM   #5
Mr. Pick
Senior Member
 
Mr. Pick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coaststarlight14 View Post
Yeah i noticed that too on the RP image, but looking in Photoshop it looks fine. It must be the way I'm converting it from PSD to JPEG. Anyone want to chip in and tell me how I SHOULD be doing it?

As for the cropping I'll appeal using the tree as an excuse but i doubt anyone will accept that as a valid one
I have that problem with RP. I can convert the full sized image to a 1024 jpg and it will be sharp as a tack on my monitor. Upload it to RP and look in the que and it looks soft.
Mr. Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:02 AM   #6
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Pick View Post
I have that problem with RP. I can convert the full sized image to a 1024 jpg and it will be sharp as a tack on my monitor. Upload it to RP and look in the que and it looks soft.
Save As, JPG, 12.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 03:12 AM   #7
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by coaststarlight14 View Post
......As for the cropping I'll appeal using the tree as an excuse but i doubt anyone will accept that as a valid one
Were you to cut off most of the tree and make it a simple wedgie, they would probably take it strait away.

Oh, and to make Jim happy - "Save As, JPG, 12."
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 04:45 AM   #8
CSX1702
Senior Member
 
CSX1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Save As, JPG, 12.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Save As, JPG, 12.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holloran Grade View Post
Oh, and to make Jim happy - "Save As, JPG, 12."

And in case you forget, Save As, JPG, 12.
__________________
Derek

Flickr

Out Of Place Album
CSX1702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 12:15 PM   #9
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,618
Default

You have to oversharpen it for RP. When I convert my full size file to an RP sized turd, I take the sharpening to eleventy-billion. Then I "Save as, JPG, 12".

Loyd L.
__________________
Social Media elevates the absurd and mediocre to a point where they aren't anymore, and that is a tragedy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 12:25 PM   #10
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,797
Default

Name:  saveas.jpg
Views: 249
Size:  314.1 KB

JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 12:42 PM   #11
Mr. Pick
Senior Member
 
Mr. Pick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbassloyd View Post
You have to oversharpen it for RP. When I convert my full size file to an RP sized turd, I take the sharpening to eleventy-billion. Then I "Save as, JPG, 12".

Loyd L.
Jim, this....^^ YMMV.
Mr. Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 05:53 PM   #12
CSX1702
Senior Member
 
CSX1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Jim, I noticed the file name. I kinda want to see this picture.

And Danylo, you will notice that he hit "Save As, JPG, 12."
__________________
Derek

Flickr

Out Of Place Album
CSX1702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 06:27 PM   #13
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSX1702 View Post
Jim, I noticed the file name. I kinda want to see this picture.
I bet it will "knock your socks off" it is so good.

And did you know, Jim saves everything of value as "JPG, 12."

However, I hear for his "personal collection" photos, he only does JPG 9.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 02:12 AM   #14
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,618
Default

Pfft. Jim uses save for web for his personal collection.

Loyd L.
__________________
Social Media elevates the absurd and mediocre to a point where they aren't anymore, and that is a tragedy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:08 AM   #15
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbassloyd View Post
Pfft. Jim uses save for web for his personal collection.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:16 AM   #16
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Our amps go to 11, but our photoshop goes to 12!

troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.