Old 12-27-2015, 08:31 PM   #1
Eugene
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 243
Default "Bad request" when trying to upload

Hi all

I have posted this query on the site-related forum as well......

My last upload to the site was on 25 Nov without any issues. I tried uploading again today and I got the message as shown in the attached screen shot. Nothing has changed as far as my browser is concerned, still using the same laptop (Mac) and same internet service provider.

I have logged out of the site, rebooted my Mac and logged in again.....same message.

Does anyone have any idea what the problem might be?

Thanks!
Eugene
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-12-27 at 4.13.23 PM.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	17.9 KB
ID:	9063  
Eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 09:23 PM   #2
miningcamper1
Senior Member
 
miningcamper1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,088
Default

Maybe the file name you used is incompatible with the server?
Try one with just letters and numbers with no spaces.
__________________
flickr photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/11947249@N03/

RP Photos: www.railpictures.net/miningcamper1/

Last edited by miningcamper1; 12-27-2015 at 09:27 PM. Reason: additional text
miningcamper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 12:06 AM   #3
sullivan1985
Member
 
sullivan1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 36
Default

Make sure the filename for you submission doesn't contain any special characters. Standard alphabet Aa-Zz, numbers 0-9 and spaces only.
sullivan1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 08:48 PM   #4
wds
Senior Member
 
wds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sullivan1985 View Post
Make sure the filename for you submission doesn't contain any special characters. Standard alphabet Aa-Zz, numbers 0-9 and spaces only.
(my bold)

I used spaces for maybe 3 or 4 years and then all of a sudden one day (I'm thinking 2010-ish) got a reject for Bad Filename or something like that. When I appealed I got a stern reply from CK stating that a space was NOT a character "the last time (he) checked". Resubmitted with spaces removed from filename and photo was accepted, so go figure. Maybe some days they are and some days they aren't.
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!

Last edited by wds; 12-28-2015 at 08:50 PM.
wds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 08:52 PM   #5
sullivan1985
Member
 
sullivan1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 36
Default

Odd. I submit photos with spaces in the titles all the time. Strange.
sullivan1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 12:22 AM   #6
wds
Senior Member
 
wds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 793
Default

That's what I thought at the time too. Haven't tried since then, no point in risking angering the Gods any more than necessary!
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
wds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 01:54 AM   #7
sullivan1985
Member
 
sullivan1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 36
Default

Maybe try using an underscore in place of a space?

ex: File_Name.jpg
sullivan1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 12:33 PM   #8
Eugene
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 243
Default

Happy New Year!

Thank you all for your comments! I have always had spaces in my file names and that has never been an issue. I tried using Safari as my browser to upload, instead of Firefox, and it worked just fine, so that appears to be where this particular problem is. Which is strange, because I have been using Firefox as my default browser for nearly a year without any difficulty.

Eugene
Eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 12:46 PM   #9
RobJor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene View Post
Happy New Year!

Thank you all for your comments! I have always had spaces in my file names and that has never been an issue. I tried using Safari as my browser to upload, instead of Firefox, and it worked just fine, so that appears to be where this particular problem is. Which is strange, because I have been using Firefox as my default browser for nearly a year without any difficulty.

Eugene
Glad it worked. Perhaps an old timer from Unix and others but I tend to be very conservative and consistent in naming files to avoid problems across platforms and applications. Searching for files etc can be less complicated also. Bob
RobJor is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.