Old 08-19-2009, 10:58 PM   #1
wlandenberger

Default New member has a question on rail photo/watching

Hello everyone. I used to be an avid railroad photographer/watcher back in the 70's and 80s, even got my wife to come along some times. Then we had child and I had to stop doing it but have returned to it now (as the boy is off to college) and as I enjoy to photograph trains. I live in Michigan near a city called Mt. Clemens (in fact the CN rail line through the city I believe is called the Mt. Clemens sub). I was wondering if any of the members know of any websites where you might find information/schedules when trains are expected to pass through a given area (I know security concerns etc) so you can plan your photography session a little better. The days when I could go out and spend 10 hours at a location waiting are gone so when I go out I want get some idea of what action to expect. Also since I live in Michigan I any suggestions of where to watch would also be appreciated from any Michigan railfans. I am not to far from Port Huron (CN) and Lapeer (CN).

Sorry if this is the wrong fourm to ask this question but I hope someone can suggest some ideas.
wlandenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 11:24 PM   #2
Gregg Pullano

Hi wlandenberger.

May I suggest http://www.railroadfan.com. This is an excellent site that is mostly centered around Michigan. We have lots of knowledgable guys from around the state, including the Detroit area and southeast Michigan.

You can also try Michiganrailroads.com, as there are several posters on that site who live along the Mount Clemens sub and have a good handle on the operations of the line.

Hope this helps.
Old 08-20-2009, 01:11 AM   #3
Alan

Hi wlandenberger.