Old 07-19-2009, 07:25 PM   #1
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default RAW + Jpeg Malfunction

So as an experiment today, I tried to shoot RAW + Jpeg on the 40D, but when I got home to download the images, the two files were both Jpegs about 5 Mb in size. Where'd the RAW go?

I don't have any software that can read the 40D's CR2 files directly, but I haven't had any trouble shooting RAW only and being able to access those files previously.

When I review the Info on the shots in-camera, it says Raw + Jpeg, so I don't know what's going on. Am I missing something or is there a glitch in Canon's software?
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 09:08 PM   #2
J Douglas Moore
Senior Member
 
J Douglas Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "It's a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 716
Default

I sometimes shoot RAW + jpeg with my 40D & never had any issues..........
I use the Digital Photo Professional software that came with the camera to read and convert my raw to tiff. Its easy touse, has a batch command, and was "free". Sounds like you may have a software glitch. Try Canon website forums to see if anyone else has that happen
__________________

"Thanks for looking"

It is a proven fact that birthdays are good for you. The people with the most always live longer!
J Douglas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 09:39 PM   #3
Christopher Muller
Senior Member
 
Christopher Muller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 787
Default

I shoot RAW+JPG with my 50D and also the 350D with no problems or errors you mentioned.
Christopher Muller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 10:20 PM   #4
lock4244
Senior Member
 
lock4244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The City Below Vaughan
Posts: 1,047
Default

I shoot RAW+Jpeg on my D200 and D300 with no issues. Is there a way to reset the D40? Maybe a software glitch that a hard reset can fix???
__________________
Mike Lockwood

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 10:41 PM   #5
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Just some more info:

I was hooking up the USB cable directly from the camera to the computer (which I don't fully trust). I don't have the EOS Utility or DPP that came with the 40D installed on this laptop. I will try my card reader and the software that came with the 40D when I get that and my desktop out of storage.

It's too bad for now because one shot is not workable as a Jpg at my skill level as the AWB blew the white balance pretty bad. Oh well.
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 11:06 PM   #6
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Damn technology:
http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00OZT0
http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00OU69

USB camera to computer: FAIL!!!!
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 11:39 PM   #7
khalucha
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 425
Default

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...nloadDetailAct Try this for your laptop.
__________________
Kevin
Phoenix, Arizona

Webshot Photos

flickr stuff
khalucha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:34 AM   #8
Christopher Muller
Senior Member
 
Christopher Muller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween View Post
USB camera to computer: FAIL!!!!
I've never had a problem pulling them from my camera via USB. Neither DSLR I've owned.
Christopher Muller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:39 AM   #9
Christopher Muller
Senior Member
 
Christopher Muller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween View Post
USB camera to computer: FAIL!!!!
I've never had a problem pulling them from my camera via USB. Neither DSLR I've owned.
Christopher Muller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:53 AM   #10
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,456
Default

I just take the card out, and use a reader.

Loyd L.
__________________
You can tell from my upload pattern just how bad I want to be a well known railroad photographer...

American Rails dot com - A fantastic website with tons of information and photographs related to American railroads and locomotives.
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:05 AM   #11
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Muller View Post
I've never had a problem pulling them from my camera via USB. Neither DSLR I've owned.
But yet your computer does a double post? Hmmmm...

I normally use a card reader, but I've been living in a van down by the river for the past six months and I've yet to pull my normal gear out of storage...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:09 AM   #12
J Douglas Moore
Senior Member
 
J Douglas Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "It's a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween View Post
I use the USB cable but NEVER erase my card until I have reviewed my shots. I like the cable since I laptop alot when I go shoot and I just dont like the idea of card in, card out, card in, card out constantly........ Just my not too humble opinion
__________________

"Thanks for looking"

It is a proven fact that birthdays are good for you. The people with the most always live longer!
J Douglas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 11:17 AM   #13
sd9
Senior Member
 
sd9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Douglas Moore View Post
I use the USB cable but NEVER erase my card until I have reviewed my shots. I like the cable since I laptop alot when I go shoot and I just dont like the idea of card in, card out, card in, card out constantly........ Just my not too humble opinion
That's what I do too, my camera shop guy says that's one of the biggest problems people have, bending the prongs where the card goes in
I never take my card out unless I fill it up on one trip then I will reload another
sd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 11:22 AM   #14
sd9
Senior Member
 
sd9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd9 View Post
That's what I do too, my camera shop guy says that's one of the biggest problems people have, bending the prongs where the card goes in
I never take my card out unless I fill it up on one trip then I will reload another
here's a link to what I do, if that helps
http://cpn.canon-europe.com/content/...eos_utility.do
sd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 12:51 PM   #15
wongm
Senior Member
 
wongm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 110
Default

I have pulled the CF card out my camera hundreds (or thousands?) of times and have not had an issue.

For those Canon shooters out there, if you use the ZoomBrowser software they give you, it does not transfer RAW files when you upload images from the card, it just grabs the JPEGs.
wongm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:15 PM   #16
lock4244
Senior Member
 
lock4244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The City Below Vaughan
Posts: 1,047
Default

I've use both direct USB between camera and PC and used a CF reader with no issues.
__________________
Mike Lockwood

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:20 PM   #17
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

I've read that you should not use the USB cable to camera but to always use a seperate card reader. I also shoot raw plus jpeg with no issues.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:53 PM   #18
J Douglas Moore
Senior Member
 
J Douglas Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "It's a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
I've read that you should not use the USB cable to camera but to always use a seperate card reader. I also shoot raw plus jpeg with no issues.
I have also heard that aliens have a secret base on the moon. USB cable is THE recommended method by most pros & by Canon. Just dont be in a hurry to erase your card...............
__________________

"Thanks for looking"

It is a proven fact that birthdays are good for you. The people with the most always live longer!
J Douglas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:04 PM   #19
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Douglas Moore View Post
I have also heard that aliens have a secret base on the moon. USB cable is THE recommended method by most pros & by Canon. Just dont be in a hurry to erase your card...............
Your wrong.



google this - "best way to download photos from memory card"


Also from a post above from Ween --

Damn technology:
http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00OZT0
http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00OU69

USB camera to computer: FAIL!!!!
__________________

Last edited by travsirocz; 07-20-2009 at 05:10 PM.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:29 PM   #20
J Douglas Moore
Senior Member
 
J Douglas Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "It's a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
Your wrong.



google this - "best way to download photos from memory card"


Also from a post above from Ween --

Damn technology:
http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00OZT0
http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00OU69

USB camera to computer: FAIL!!!!
__________________
I am never wrong.............. Only misunderstood......... And I do believe the aliens have that moon base..........

From the Canon Professional Network comes the following instructions for downloading your pics: "Depending on your camera model it will need to be connected to your computer by either a USB or Firewire cable."

But frankly, I really dont care how you do it. There are always opposing opinions and always those who think everyone is entitled to it. You can find just as many that say use USB cable as say use card reader. What I know is it is less costly to replace the USB connection on my 40D than to replace the card reader in it...... Thousnads of pics and not one problem yet in using the cable, but do what you think is best...........
__________________

"Thanks for looking"

It is a proven fact that birthdays are good for you. The people with the most always live longer!
J Douglas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:36 PM   #21
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Douglas Moore View Post

From the Canon Professional Network comes the following instructions for downloading your pics: "Depending on your camera model it will need to be connected to your computer by either a USB or Firewire cable."
They say that because they don't include an external card reader with the camera. Money talks on their end.

I don't get what you mean by it being cheaper to replace your cameras usb compared to your cameras card reader? In the end it is cheaper to replace a bad external card reader and bypass the camera completely.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:39 PM   #22
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

[quote=J Douglas Moore;95322]I have also heard that aliens have a secret base on the moon. QUOTE]

They might. I am not even 100% we have been there yet.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:47 PM   #23
J Douglas Moore
Senior Member
 
J Douglas Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "It's a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
They say that because they don't include an external card reader with the camera. Money talks on their end.

I don't get what you mean by it being cheaper to replace your cameras usb compared to your cameras card reader? In the end it is cheaper to replace a bad external card reader and bypass the camera completely.
I am talking about the internal componant of my camera. Yes, it is cheaper to repalce a card reader. Thats was not my point.

Googling up your recommendation brought me comments that were mostly geared to non-slr users and come from such fountians of photgraphic knowledge as Wiki, scroongedog on Yahoo.Answers, etc. So, I really dont put much in those opinions. Anyway, it is as I said , Do what is right for you 'cause I dont care.
__________________

"Thanks for looking"

It is a proven fact that birthdays are good for you. The people with the most always live longer!
J Douglas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:49 PM   #24
J Douglas Moore
Senior Member
 
J Douglas Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "It's a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 716
Default

[quote=travsirocz;95328]
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Douglas Moore View Post
I have also heard that aliens have a secret base on the moon. QUOTE]

They might. I am not even 100% we have been there yet.
I have proof they have............ My wedding video was taped over one of NASA's moon videos and some still shows at the end, right when my best man fell face first into the wedding cake.........
__________________

"Thanks for looking"

It is a proven fact that birthdays are good for you. The people with the most always live longer!
J Douglas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 06:16 PM   #25
Ed Mullan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default

Seems to me when I first downloaded raw files from my D200 (I don't use raw much), that the raw files were not downloaded with the Jpegs..look in the hard drive to see if the raw stuff is on there somewhere else. I always use the USB cable, don't like taking the muti-pin cf card in and out all the time.

Ed
Ed Mullan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.