Old 05-05-2009, 11:41 PM   #1
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,898
Default Canon 430 External Flash Question

I have an external flash which for the most part just sits in my camera bag. I'd like to start using it for night time stuff to flash during long exposures. First problem -- the flash won't fit onto my 400D after a fall suffered by the camera. It will fit onto my Elan 7 and last night I got the bright idea to take the Elan 7 out, throw the flash on and fire the flash by pressing the shutter down halfway.

I think I exposed about 15 frames that way and only got the flash to work once. I know there must be a way to fire the flash without taking a picture, maybe even without eing on a camera. My question is: how?

Must remember never to lose the package that comes with electronics. I had planned on doing a web search, but I figured I would forget if I didn't start this thread.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:47 PM   #2
Walter S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Walter S
Default

Well it sucks the battery quick, this may be why it only fired once. If you want the flash to fire off camera just push the red button.
__________________
Walter Scriptunas II
Scriptunasimages.com

Last edited by Walter S; 05-05-2009 at 11:51 PM.
Walter S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:02 AM   #3
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,898
Default

The battery didn't die -- I was a little surprised -- and I tried every button on the flash to make it fire. Hmm.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:56 AM   #4
Save The Wave
trainchaser.us
 
Save The Wave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Evansville IN
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Save The Wave
Default

If it's like the 580, you *REALLY* have to push the red button.
The problem you may have though, since there's no TTL metering, you are likely to get some gross overexposure of close objects.
__________________
You give me a golf cart, a 12 pack and a lake, I'll show you how to have fun all day - Comedian Greg Hahn

The good, the bad and the ugly. My railpics
Save The Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 02:02 AM   #5
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

On my 430 a push of usual strength does the trick, if the red light is on. The button is the red light, it isn't just a light, it is a button also.

Joe, so how do you know the batteries were not dead? Did you just take them from another device? Batteries that are working on low draw devices can fail on a flash, which draws a lot of current. (In advance, as I understand it, they load up a capacitor and then it all comes out at once when the flash fires. Don't hold me to that.)
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:47 AM   #6
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,898
Default

J.

In hindsight, the batteries probably are dying. They've been in the flash for a while now. I took it back out and could only get the red light to turn on three or four times. Should have thought about that when I left the caboose I was shooting to pik up a few things at Wal Mart.


Joe
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.