Old 05-09-2011, 02:49 PM   #1
oltmannd

Default First camera?

What was the first camera you used for railfan pictures?

How old were you when you started?

What were the challenges (technical and logistical)?

How did you learn to improve?

What's your favorite early photograph?

Do those early days make you smile or wince?
oltmannd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:07 PM   #2
lock4244

Canon T70 (borrowed from Dad).

Nikon F3 was the first camera I purchased for myself.

I just watched while Dad shot for years, then I shot video for a few years until moving to stills at 20 years old (took a few years off to chase skirts, be a retard, etc...).

Challenges were learning to use K-64, which was a real departure from the easy to shoot print film. I had a good mentor trackside, and what I learned then I still put in practice today still shooting all manual, non-AF.

Learn to improve by doing and observing the work of others. I'm still learning, BTW, and still observing others... we all tend to develop tunnel vision from time to time.

Favorite early 'decent' photograph would have to be a trio of CN M420W's at Port Hope, Ontario. Impossible to repeat these days. Favorite shot taken with the F3 on RP:

Image © Mike Lockwood
PhotoID: 218490
Photograph © Mike Lockwood

Early days make me smile... lots of neat stuff that is long gone now.

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here

Last edited by lock4244; 05-09-2011 at 06:12 PM.
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:25 PM   #3
troy12n
Banned

Dunno, some sort of film point and shoot. My first REAL camera was a Canon EOS Rebel S film camera.

Shooting seriously? my 30's

technical, learning exposure and the technical limitations of early autofocus systems

trial and errro

cant post it here

depends what I was taking a picture of
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:44 PM   #4
JRMDC