Old 10-09-2008, 05:33 PM   #1
Jaypee_Logger
Blasting over a red flag.
 
Jaypee_Logger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burbank. WA
Posts: 136
Send a message via MSN to Jaypee_Logger Send a message via Yahoo to Jaypee_Logger
Question Power lines.

Is there anyway to edit the power lines out of this photo? I have some editing soft wear but it wont do that. Is there any softwear out there that will edit out foreground stuff while leaving the background untouched?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	018.JPG
Views:	202
Size:	484.4 KB
ID:	3412  
__________________
BNSF conductor/switchman DOWN WITH RCO's!!!!
Jaypee_Logger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 05:35 PM   #2
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

It's hard to tell from my tiny screen here, but a good clone stamping should help. What software do you currently have?
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 05:41 PM   #3
Jaypee_Logger
Blasting over a red flag.
 
Jaypee_Logger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burbank. WA
Posts: 136
Send a message via MSN to Jaypee_Logger Send a message via Yahoo to Jaypee_Logger
Default

I have photoshop 5.0 LE
__________________
BNSF conductor/switchman DOWN WITH RCO's!!!!
Jaypee_Logger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 06:07 PM   #4
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Look in the help section of your software for "clone," and you should find what you need.
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 06:30 PM   #5
Jaypee_Logger
Blasting over a red flag.
 
Jaypee_Logger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burbank. WA
Posts: 136
Send a message via MSN to Jaypee_Logger Send a message via Yahoo to Jaypee_Logger
Default

Well i found the clone tool but I have never used it before and have no idea how to use it. The help section isnt much help.
__________________
BNSF conductor/switchman DOWN WITH RCO's!!!!
Jaypee_Logger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 10:17 PM   #6
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Just alt+click a similar area, you'll get it in time.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 11:04 PM   #7
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

The clone tool takes one area of your photo and "clones" it into another.

With my software, which may be similar to yours, you right click in the area you want to copy (trees or sky) and then left click in the area you want to cover up (wires, AB(2), etc.). There are some settings that you probably have access to, which will control the size of the clone brush, how opaque it is, etc. You should have it figured out pretty quick if you play with it for a little while. If you hold down the left key, you can use it like a paint brush (right click on the trees, left click and hold and drag across the length of the wire).
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 11:45 PM   #8
Northern Limits
Senior Member
 
Northern Limits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 611
Default

Be sure to duplicate the original first.
I have PSE 4 and have used the "healing brush" on occasion with some success. Just do a small section at a time.
On one picture there was a bright beer can in the water in the immediate foreground. I tried the "healing brush" just to see how it would work. It kept great continuity in the texture of the water surface.
__________________
Cheers, Jim.


Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Northern Limits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 11:50 PM   #9
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Google>Search>Clone Stamp Tutorials>Read>Try>Practice>Do
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:30 AM   #10
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

Posted by Alan Crotty about a year ago.

Quote:
If you're tired of wires and masts and want an easy way to remove them (not for RailPics of course!) then try this plug-in that I came across the other day.

Wire Pilot is a free plugin and application (for Windows) for retouching wires, posts, antennas and other unwanted linear objects from a photo.

http://www.colorpilot.com/wire.html

Best of all it's FREE and it works too
Remember not to post the result on RP!

Michael Allen
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 04:00 AM   #11
woody_k
still learnin'
 
woody_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beaumont, ca
Posts: 83
Default

Sorry for a newbie reply but removing power lines is not allowed on this site?
woody_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 04:49 AM   #12
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woody_k
Sorry for a newbie reply but removing power lines is not allowed on this site?
It is strictly forbidden.
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 01:57 PM   #13
TAMR159
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
It is strictly forbidden.
What the screeners don't know doesn't hurt them...in other words, do a good enough job so no one notices. If you do a poor job of it, of course it'll be rejected.
TAMR159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 05:39 PM   #14
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

...or do a good enough job but still get caught, expect to be banned.
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 06:39 PM   #15
matth
Member
 
matth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 79
Talking

Heaven forbid that we actually exploit one of the biggest advantages that digital photography has over traditional film-based processing.

I can understand RP.net wanting to keep a lid on "creative" image editing, but IMHO distracting wires and poles should be fair game to eliminate, especially if it can be done in such a manner as to be virtually undetectible.

I'm sure no one here on this thread has ever perpetrated such a heinous photographic hate crime. Wires and poles have feelings too... Well, maybe not. Q.E.D.

Last edited by matth; 10-27-2008 at 06:42 PM.
matth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 07:24 PM   #16
MDH
Senior Member
 
MDH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matth
Heaven forbid that we actually exploit one of the biggest advantages that digital photography has over traditional film-based processing.

I can understand RP.net wanting to keep a lid on "creative" image editing, but IMHO distracting wires and poles should be fair game to eliminate, especially if it can be done in such a manner as to be virtually undetectible.

I'm sure no one here on this thread has ever perpetrated such a heinous photographic hate crime. Wires and poles have feelings too... Well, maybe not. Q.E.D.
I for one am glad that significant manipulation of reality is generally not allowed. I can see removing a small piece of trash, bird in the sky, or other transient element of a scene but removing a "fixture" of the scene like power lines, trees, buildings or anything more permanent I think is misleading. How would you like seeing a shot, thinking "wow, what a great location" and then spending time & money to visit it and find it cluttered with junk you didn't know was there?

Personally, I haven't bothered with any of that - I barely find time to do basic editing (level,crop,resize,sharpen,etc.) If a location isn't good to start with I just move on to a different one rather than trying to "correct" it in photoshop.

My 2 cents.
Michael
MDH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 07:48 PM   #17
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDH
I for one am glad that significant manipulation of reality is generally not allowed. I can see removing a small piece of trash, bird in the sky, or other transient element of a scene but removing a "fixture" of the scene like power lines, trees, buildings or anything more permanent I think is misleading. How would you like seeing a shot, thinking "wow, what a great location" and then spending time & money to visit it and find it cluttered with junk you didn't know was there?
Then you'd have to learn how to use the clone brush

Then only thing I've ever cloned out has been an annoying branch, powerline, or utility pole - if you could take care of it with a chain saw, you should be able to clone it out, that's my rule of thumb.
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 08:47 PM   #18
matth
Member
 
matth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 79
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
Then you'd have to learn how to use the clone brush

Then only thing I've ever cloned out has been an annoying branch, powerline, or utility pole - if you could take care of it with a chain saw, you should be able to clone it out, that's my rule of thumb.
Amen brother!
matth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 10:50 PM   #19
Mike B.
Banned
 
Mike B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matth
Heaven forbid that we actually exploit one of the biggest advantages that digital photography has over traditional film-based processing.

I can understand RP.net wanting to keep a lid on "creative" image editing, but IMHO distracting wires and poles should be fair game to eliminate, especially if it can be done in such a manner as to be virtually undetectible.

I'm sure no one here on this thread has ever perpetrated such a heinous photographic hate crime. Wires and poles have feelings too... Well, maybe not. Q.E.D.
The whole reason for RP not allowing this type of manipulation is because when things like this are done, the photograph no longer represents reality. If you want to control everything, you should be a painter, not a photographer.
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 10:51 PM   #20
Mike B.
Banned
 
Mike B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
Then you'd have to learn how to use the clone brush

Then only thing I've ever cloned out has been an annoying branch, powerline, or utility pole - if you could take care of it with a chain saw, you should be able to clone it out, that's my rule of thumb.
My question is if you would actually ever fire the chain saw up? I doubt it...
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 12:43 AM   #21
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike B.
My question is if you would actually ever fire the chain saw up? I doubt it...
A saw is actually on my list of things to get. There are a couple of scenes that would work out much better with a tree or two out of the way. Of course I would never actually cut down a utility pole.

Mike, your point (representing reality) is perfectly valid, and if you don't want to cut out powerlines from your photos, you're more than welcome to include them. I would argue that there are too many shots that just don't work unless there's some clone brush action though.

I've talked to a guy who mentioned that grafitti didn't bother him at all anymore because he'd just Photoshop it out. That's going too far for me - but if he wants to look at a shot that doesn't have any graffiti in it, I suppose I don't really care if he removes it or not - to each his own.

I've read stories about photographers knocking down the occasional tree - has anyone ever run into any repercussions for doing so?
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:12 AM   #22
Mike B.
Banned
 
Mike B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
A saw is actually on my list of things to get. There are a couple of scenes that would work out much better with a tree or two out of the way. Of course I would never actually cut down a utility pole.
Then you should include them in your photo, no?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
Mike, your point (representing reality) is perfectly valid, and if you don't want to cut out powerlines from your photos, you're more than welcome to include them. I would argue that there are too many shots that just don't work unless there's some clone brush action though.
If a shot doesn't work without the clone tool, then it just doesn't work. How do you think people who shoot/shot film got through this?

I'm surprised and somewhat disturbed to learn that you and several others are so blatantly breaking the rules of RP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
I've talked to a guy who mentioned that grafitti didn't bother him at all anymore because he'd just Photoshop it out. That's going too far for me - but if he wants to look at a shot that doesn't have any graffiti in it, I suppose I don't really care if he removes it or not - to each his own.

I've read stories about photographers knocking down the occasional tree - has anyone ever run into any repercussions for doing so?
I don't mind graffiti as long as it's not 15 year olds writing cuss words and as long as it's not on the locomotives.

I've cut down a few small trees, but nothing of significant size.
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:25 AM   #23
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike B.
Then you should include them in your photo, no?
This shot would have worked out much better had I cloned out the poles, no?

Image ©
PhotoID:
Photograph ©


How would that photo suffer if the poles weren't there? They don't contribute to the mood, and unless the shot were used in the preparation of a historical study of power infrastructure in the early 20th century, I don't think anyone's going to be negatively impacted by their loss.

Quote:
I've cut down a few small trees, but nothing of significant size.
You can't do that with a film camera either
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:39 AM   #24
Mike B.
Banned
 
Mike B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
This shot would have worked out much better had I cloned out the poles, no?

Image ©
PhotoID:
Photograph ©
Of course it would, but it would also be better if you got storm light. If you had added in the storm light that would be a lie to viewer, just as removing the power lines would be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
How would that photo suffer if the poles weren't there? They don't contribute to the mood, and unless the shot were used in the preparation of a historical study of power infrastructure in the early 20th century, I don't think anyone's going to be negatively impacted by their loss.
I think we're looking at this hobby in two different ways. You're approaching it more as a form of art, but I think of it as documentation that looks good. I think your primary concern is how the photo looks and that is also a huge concern of mine, but I don't let it get in the way of what the photo represents; reality.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
You can't do that with a film camera either
Canon digital SLRs come with chain saws..wow. Maybe I should get one...nah.
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 03:05 AM   #25
EMTRailfan
Senior Member
 
EMTRailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I can be found railfanning the abandoned B&O Northern Sub.
Posts: 1,451
Default

I can't say that I am for cloning (other than dust spots, spec birds, etc.) but if it's your photo, do what you want. RP does have its rules though. I might even give leeway to the 'levitating wire' that doesn't connect to anything in the frame, but if it's attached to a pole, it should stay as well as the pole.

BTW, don't cut down any of MY trees. I might get rich.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth 1000 Words. A Memory Is Worth 1000 Pictures.

Last edited by EMTRailfan; 10-28-2008 at 03:08 AM.
EMTRailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.