Old 12-09-2003, 05:41 PM   #1
E.M. Bell
Senior Member
 
E.M. Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Salvisa, Kentucky
Posts: 471
Send a message via MSN to E.M. Bell Send a message via Yahoo to E.M. Bell
Default When is a bell not really a bell?

Someone had asked a question awhile back about the "odd" sound of the bell on some of the newer engines that GE and EMD are producing. Some Railroads, including the NS, are putting the new electronic bells on their engines. These are basicly just a aluminum housing that contains a chip with the digitaly recorded sound of a loco bell, a small amp and speaker. These dont have the "full" sound that a regular cast steel bell has, but are much louder and cost effective (no moving parts to maintain). You wil also find a simular device at a lot of crossings now.


NS has put these on the newer batch of GE D9's (9700 and above) and on a few of the New SD70m's. I would imagine that as the bell's fail on older units, these will be retrofitted as well. Has anyone noticed if the CSX or other class ones are using these?

Here are a couple of shots of the new type bell on NS D9-40CW # 9782.



__________________
E.M. Bell, KD4JSL
Salvisa, KY


http://www.jreb.org
NS Fourms http://jreb.org/ns
E.M. Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 05:46 PM   #2
oltmannd
Senior Member
 
oltmannd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 361
Default

Bells can get packed with snow and the ringer can ice up from condensation in the air supply. Otherwise, they are pretty reliable devices. I guess fear of litigation strikes again!

There are some ex-PC GP38s running around with brass bells. PC took them that way when EMD had troubles getting enough steel bells on the condition they were properly painted black.


-Don
oltmannd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 07:56 PM   #3
Guilford350
Senior Member
 
Guilford350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Terryville, CT
Posts: 542
Default

As far as I know, CSX has not started using electronic bells yet. I don't even think their new units, the SD70MAC's, use e-bells.
Guilford350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 02:04 AM   #4
tbookout82
Junior Member
 
tbookout82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lexington/Danville, Kentucky
Posts: 20
Send a message via MSN to tbookout82 Send a message via Yahoo to tbookout82
Default

Though not a Class I, the Ohio Central has e-bells mounted on top of their FP9's. These are beautiful units, but an FP9 pair that sounds like a pair of GP38's with e-bells and five chime horns doesn't leave the hallowed impression of original F's. They really are nice locomotives though.
__________________
Thomas Bookout
tbookout82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 12:21 PM   #5
nsrayman
Banned
 
nsrayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 44
Default

NS is also installing e-bells on some the MP15 `s.
nsrayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 08:14 PM   #6
battalion51
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to battalion51
Default

While this idea seems like a good idea in theory, there's still no substitute for the good ole fashioned bell, they have a true sound and make the railroad experience what it is.
__________________
The Chief
Amtrak:World's largest gathering of idiots
Rail Miles Travelled: 37,598
battalion51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 01:45 AM   #7
A-Nonny-Moose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

The E bell however does not freeze and plug up during snow.
A-Nonny-Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.