Old 10-13-2018, 05:38 AM   #1
mersenne6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 69
Default Slide scanners

I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations concerning scanning of 35mm slides? My old faithful Minolta won't work in Windows 10 and I haven't been able to find much in the way of information about anyone currently manufacturing slide scanners.
mersenne6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 02:03 PM   #2
Decapod401
Senior Member
 
Decapod401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mersenne6 View Post
I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations concerning scanning of 35mm slides? My old faithful Minolta won't work in Windows 10 and I haven't been able to find much in the way of information about anyone currently manufacturing slide scanners.
If you only have a software compatability problem, I highly recommend that you purchase Vuescan Pro software. It supports over 4000 scanners, and for 90 bucks will let you work with just about any scanner that you have. I use it for my slide scanner as well as a flatbed HP.

If you are looking for new hardware, I've been using a Plustek 8100i. It comes in two versions - buy the cheaper SE package. The AI package just includes extra software that I found to be useless - just buy Vuescan at the same time.

BTW, if you want to look at what's available in new slide scanners, B&H Photo is a good place to start.
__________________
Doug Lilly

My RP Pics are HERE.

I've now got a Flickr. account, too.

Last edited by Decapod401; 10-13-2018 at 10:18 PM.
Decapod401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 03:28 PM   #3
raylewis
Junior Member
 
raylewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 19
Default

Agree with Doug 100 percent...Vue Scan! Cheaper than a new scanner and works great. It worked well with my Minolta Dimage Scan Dual 4 on Windows 7 (I think) and the NikonCoolscan I had last year with Win 10.

Ray
raylewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 05:13 PM   #4
miningcamper1
Senior Member
 
miningcamper1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,112
Default

Good information above! I have not been able to use my very capable Canon all-in-one since my Vista-running laptop died.

If only the journey from raw scan to finished upload was not so arduous!
__________________
flickr photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/11947249@N03/

RP Photos: www.railpictures.net/miningcamper1/
miningcamper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 06:53 PM   #5
ShortlinesUSA
Senior Member
 
ShortlinesUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 805
Default

Ditto...Nikon Coolscan V-ED running with VueScan software here. I had to make the change because Nikon software wasn't supported by newer operating systems.
__________________
Mike Derrick

Shortline and Regional RR forum moderator
ShortlinesUSA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 01:48 AM   #6
John West
Senior Curmudgeon
 
John West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 1,075
Smile Another vote for Vuescan

I have been using Vuescan for years, first with a Polaroid scanner, and more recently with a Nikon super coolscan, Epson V600, and even my HP printer and scanner. It is very user friendly, produces good scans, and seems to adapt to about any kind of scanner, computer, or operating system.

JBW
__________________
John West
See my pix here and
here and here
John West is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.