Old 03-15-2008, 01:58 PM   #1
Mike Hughes

Default Lens Advice (18-200)

I'm thinking of getting a Macro / Zoom lens. A friend who takes photos of cars has suggested at Tamron 18-200 for my Canon 400D.

Anyone had any experience of such a lens - the price is very reasonable when compared to a Canon lens?
Mike Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 04:26 PM   #2
Peter MacCauley

Yeah, i have lots of experience with my Sigma 18-200, which i have to believe is similar to Tamron's. I tested both, and the only difference I noticed was price. That being said, i must admit the lens leaves a bit to be desired. I think that any time there is such a great zoom range, quality suffers a bit. Most of my pictures with the lens turn out a little softer than I'd like, but if you are looking for an inexpensive "all in one" lens, i don't think you can get any more for the price. Maybe someone else with a little more to say on this subject can add to this.

Peter.

See my RP photos at:http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=18537
Peter MacCauley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 05:33 PM   #3
socalrailfan
Master Railfan

Just type in Tamron (?-?) lens reviews in Google for lots of reviews. The Tamron 18-250 may be better quality than the 18-200, but check the reviews and let us know. Personally I'll give a little quality to give me the zoom range, right now I'm stuck with a 18-55 and a 28-200 lenses.
See more of my train photos at:
http://community.webshots.com/user/firehouse16
See my train videos at:
http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=SoCalRailFan
socalrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 05:33 PM   #4
ottergoose
American Gunzel

Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose

I used the Canon 28-200 and it was a piece of garbage. Soft images, nasty fringing, etc.