Old 02-03-2008, 12:40 AM   #1
Aaron Jors
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 64
Default Uploading Photos

I was messing around trying to upload my first photo to see what the process invloved and I keep getting the error message that my photos do not meet the size requirements.

The photo size is 982x601 which exceeds the 800x600 minimum?

What am I missing?
Aaron Jors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 12:51 AM   #2
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

It might be the ratio...try a 4:3 crop or a 3:2 crop...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 01:15 AM   #3
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

Thats pretty weird, Ive never had any problem trying to upload "funky" dimensions...
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 01:34 AM   #4
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

I don't recall their being a filter on the pixel dimensions - doesn't that occur during screening? But maybe it's automatic. For sure, oddball pixel combinations are not a problem if they fall within the guidelines (but the screener may say bad crop but that is aesthetic and not formulaic).

But it will kick out if you are uploading a file larger than 1 mb. So look for that - it's a different dimension of "size."

Also, make sure you aren't mistakenly uploading a thumbnail instead of the real thing. Not sure how that would happen, but I thought I'd mention it.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 03:57 AM   #5
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

Aaron;

I would go back and double check the actual size in your processing software. There may be a mistake in the size and that 982X601 might actually be a 982X599 or some such.


Joe
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 04:29 AM   #6
Aaron Jors
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 64
Default

This is the error message I am receiving

Warning: copy(/home/railpictures/public_html/images/images2/_/_MG_4841.jpg.73116): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/railpictures/public_html/addphotos/upload_photo.php on line 277
failed to copy file

Warning: getimagesize(/home/railpictures/public_html/images/images2/_/_MG_4841.jpg.73116): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/railpictures/public_html/addphotos/upload_photo.php on line 282


Uploaded Photo Below Minimum Height Requirement!


The image you attempted to upload is below our minimum image height requirement of 600 pixels. Please ensure that this image is 600 pixels in width, then try uploading again.

And here is the photo, I'm positive the dimensions are 982W x 601H unless photoshop is incorrect.

Aaron Jors is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.