Old 05-02-2011, 04:04 AM   #1
ssw9662

Default CSX Mountain Sub

With the CPLs all but gone around Magnolia, it looks like the Mountain Sub will be my next stop on the old B&O. I have very little knowledge of the operations around here, so I could use some help.

First of all, are there any CPLs remaining on the line? All of the signal lists I have are 5+ years old and I'm sure many of those signals are gone now. That said I would be surprised if they are all gone now. I really want to shoot the ones at Amblersburg so I'm hoping those are still up. If there are any CPLs remaining, does anybody know exactly where they are and which ones are accessible?

Second, I've heard that the Mountain Sub sees about 10-15 trains per day, is that correct? Also, how easy/hard is it to chase stuff? Are there any "can't miss" photo ops on the line?

I plan to concentrate my efforts on the portion of the line between Terra Alta and Grafton. That said, I'd be willing to venture outside that area if there's enough good stuff east of there.

Thanks in advance!
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8
My Railpictures.net Photos
flickr
ssw9662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:38 AM   #2
JRMDC

If you are unaware of the site, http://mtnsub.org/

sorry, I am not current on operations or the CPLs up there

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 09:50 PM   #3
lefflerlad