Old 09-24-2013, 08:01 PM   #1
JMC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Posts: 168
Default Teleconverter

Does anyone here use a teleconverter? I've read that one sacrifices sharpness and was wondering if its even worth using one.
JMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 08:42 PM   #2
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default

I purchased a Canon "L" series 2X ver I a few years ago.

Used it maybe twice - never for anything other then to test it.

Want to purchase it?

I figured it was CANON. It was an "L" series. How bad could it be.

Most folks know to go with the 1.4, which I may in the future, but there's no substitute for simply purchasing a lens with the focal point you need.

I hear even Canon's newest version III is far from perfect, though that's a perfectionist's point of view (like myself).

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 08:44 PM   #3
magicman_841
Senior Member
 
magicman_841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,024
Default

Teleconverters make sense for stuff like wildlife. Do you really need 700+ mm focal lengths for trains!? If you're going to put a teleconverter on a 24-105, just get a 70-300.
__________________
Mathieu Tremblay
Choo photos
magicman_841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 08:52 PM   #4
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default

No - you're gonna put a teleconverter on the 70-200, 70-300, 300 or 200-400.

You'll loose focus speed and your aperture will be limited to 5.6, or 6.3 and up.

But mostly - you'll end up with soft images.

Who wants a blurry eagle's eye?

I'd love something in the 400 mm+ range but never found a way around the heat distortion on railroad shots.

/Mitch
(Stickler for images that are tact sharp )
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 11:53 PM   #5
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb To convert, or not.

I used a 1 to 1.4 converter on this one with my 100-400 all stretched out.

You do loose sharpness, but the train is 2 or 3 miles away at that point.

Image © EL ROCO Photography
PhotoID: 418663
Photograph © EL ROCO Photography


Image © EL ROCO Photography
PhotoID: 420058
Photograph © EL ROCO Photography




Here is the 400 with no converter.

Image © EL ROCO Photography
PhotoID: 431873
Photograph © EL ROCO Photography



And here is the same spot with a 16-35mm.

Image © EL ROCO Photography
PhotoID: 430618
Photograph © EL ROCO Photography

Last edited by Holloran Grade; 09-24-2013 at 11:55 PM.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 11:56 PM   #6
PLEzero
Senior Member
 
PLEzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicman_841 View Post
Teleconverters make sense for stuff like wildlife. Do you really need 700+ mm focal lengths for trains!? If you're going to put a teleconverter on a 24-105, just get a 70-300.
It doesn't work like that. The Canon extenders can only be used with specific lenses, the smallest being the 70-200. It isn't perfect but it gets the job done, especially with the right price tag considering the options.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/FrameWor...xExtender.html
__________________
Brad Morocco
Candyland, PA
My Flickr Photos
My RP.net Photos
PLEzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 02:16 AM   #7
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

And the auto focus doesn't work with a converter, so it is all manual.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 04:23 AM   #8
kszok
Member
 
kszok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holloran Grade View Post
And the auto focus doesn't work with a converter, so it is all manual.
The auto focus doesn't work with the 100mm - 400mm lens because the f/5.6 @ 400mm becomes f/8. There is not enough light hitting the AF sensors for the auto focus to work. You lose an f-stop with the 1.4 converter. The auto focus worked when I used the 1.4 converter with my 70mm - 200mm f/2.8 lens.
__________________
Flickr

Railpictures
kszok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 04:35 AM   #9
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLEzero View Post
It doesn't work like that. The Canon extenders can only be used with specific lenses, the smallest being the 70-200. It isn't perfect but it gets the job done, especially with the right price tag considering the options.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/FrameWor...xExtender.html
I believe the third-party teleconverters (Kenko, are there others?) are not restricted to particular lenses. I see that the Kenko 1.4x does not work with EF-S lenses on Canon.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...4_AF_1_4X.html

I haven't use one, of any brand, at least not in the last decade.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 07:00 AM   #10
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by kszok View Post
The auto focus worked when I used the 1.4 converter with my 70mm - 200mm f/2.8 lens.
Ah - I did not know that.

Course, it was your converter that I used.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 04:39 PM   #11
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

My opinion: if you can find a real cheap one it could be useful to throw in the bag for rare occasions. I would not spend more than $50 on one.
__________________
Now with Flickr!
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:36 PM   #12
mersenne6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 69
Default

Yup, all the time - 2x. I use mine on an f2.8 200mm zoom so with DX I get 600mm and with the full frame I get 400mm. I haven't seen much in the way of sharpness issues but you do need a cool day and a rock solid tripod mount to keep everything sharp.
mersenne6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 03:40 AM   #13
stlgevo51
Senior Member
 
stlgevo51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holloran Grade View Post
I used a 1 to 1.4 converter on this one with my 100-400 all stretched out.

You do loose sharpness, but the train is 2 or 3 miles away at that point.

Image © EL ROCO Photography
PhotoID: 418663
Photograph © EL ROCO Photography


Image © EL ROCO Photography
PhotoID: 420058
Photograph © EL ROCO Photography
These are pretty cool, especially the first one! As far as sharpness goes, they look sharper than some of my stuff taken with a 24-105mm (of course, my poor post-processing skills might have an effect on that comparison).
__________________
Jake
Railpictures Shots RP stuff.
Flickr Shots All the RP stuff plus some failed experiments, wedgies, and junk.
Youtube Videos
stlgevo51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 03:57 AM   #14
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by stlgevo51 View Post
These are pretty cool, especially the first one! As far as sharpness goes, they look sharper than some of my stuff taken with a 24-105mm (of course, my poor post-processing skills might have an effect on that comparison).
Depends a lot on the body you are using.

These where on a full frame 5D MKIII which at 22.1 MB per shot RAW, provides a lot of digital information to work with.

Same lens, no converter.

Image © EL ROCO Photography
PhotoID: 439657
Photograph © EL ROCO Photography

Last edited by Holloran Grade; 09-27-2013 at 04:00 AM.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 11:55 AM   #15
Bryan Jones
Senior Member
 
Bryan Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brooks,KY
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kszok View Post
The auto focus doesn't work with the 100mm - 400mm lens because the f/5.6 @ 400mm becomes f/8. There is not enough light hitting the AF sensors for the auto focus to work. You lose an f-stop with the 1.4 converter. The auto focus worked when I used the 1.4 converter with my 70mm - 200mm f/2.8 lens.
all Canon 1D and 1Ds series cameras as well as the 5D MK III (with the latest firmware update) will AF down to F8. All other Canon bodies max out at F5.6 though you can tape certain pins on the converter or use a third party converter, but you need excellent lighting conditions.

Bryan Jones
Brooks,KY
Bryan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 06:03 AM   #16
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,985
Default

Extenders are best for fast, telephoto primes. Slow lenses and zooms are less than ideal though do-able.

Canon 2x compatibility list.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/FrameWor...xExtender.html

Canon 1.4x compatibility list.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/FrameWor...xExtender.html
__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:49 AM   #17
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

AF works with telephoto lens that are fast, 2.8 with a 2X and 4.5 with a 1.4X. 1.4X are by far sharper of the two, With 2X for the only way to get the shot. Now if you have a 80-300 F 4 to 6.3 its not worth it the AF will be dead and the F stops will be SLOW with a 2X F8-12.6 max F stops.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:33 PM   #18
jdirelan87
Senior Member
 
jdirelan87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Metro DC
Posts: 725
Default

I have a Nikon 2x that I use on my 70-200 f/2.8 (like it's Cannon counterpart, you can only use it on the long lenses). I don't really use it that much, and when I do its limited to pretty much bright sunny days. With that being said, I don't notice any quality drop off (at least for RP sized photos) if I use it under the right conditions... 500 @ f/8 that is.

Image © John Ireland
PhotoID: 387488
Photograph © John Ireland

Image © John Ireland
PhotoID: 420786
Photograph © John Ireland

Image © John Ireland
PhotoID: 424100
Photograph © John Ireland

Image © John Ireland
PhotoID: 396197
Photograph © John Ireland
jdirelan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.