Old 10-06-2017, 07:01 PM   #1
ScottoT

Default Greetings all

I'm a newly registered forum and railpictures.net user.

I've submitted a few photo's that have gotten rejected. I completely understand the idea that only the best get submitted. But what constitutes "poor image quality".

At first I submitted photo's as taken straight from my camera. Now I have figured out that some form of enhancing must be done for acceptance.

I realize this sounds as though I am being a poor sport about this, and admittedly I am a relatively new digital photographer, and am learning aspects of shooting. I'm just trying to figure out the process.

I had one photo submitted that was rejected because there was a weed alongside the track in front of a locomotive picture I had submitted, (attached) and the rejection was this:

- Backlit (Nose): The nose of the lead unit is too dark due to backlighting.
- Clutter (Foreground): The image contains unsightly clutter (fences, trees, weeds, etc.) which is either obstructing part of the train, or is large enough to detract from the overall image.

Thank you for your help.

Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0072_resize.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	258.6 KB
ID:	9521  
ScottoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 07:55 PM   #2
ATSF666

Light on the nose means that the light you see on the side of your locomotive also needs to be at least on half of the front portion the locomotive's nose. Your shot does not have any direct sunlight on the front.

They don't like anything obstructing the locomotive's trucks. It doesn't take much to trigger this rejection.
Old 10-06-2017, 08:06 PM   #3
miningcamper1

The shrubs alone are enough to kill this one for this site. And then you have the dark nose, the shadows, and the lean to the right. Post elsewhere or leave it in your personal collection.

RP Photos: www.railpictures.net/miningcamper1/

Last edited by miningcamper1; 10-06-2017 at 08:10 PM. Reason: typo