Old 01-18-2010, 07:25 PM   #1
Amtrakdavis22
Senior Member
 
Amtrakdavis22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 308
Default Bad Cropping Advice

Got bad cropping on these two images. Can they be fixed?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=772306&key=0

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=988884108
Amtrakdavis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:53 PM   #2
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

You had some nice lighting to work with, so I don't know why you thought 1/60th was sufficient enough to stop a moving train. The first one is too blurry on the nose, and the second one you have a bit of grass and whatnot in the way of the loco. "Better" cropping won't save either one of these, unfortunately.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:12 AM   #3
Amtrakdavis22
Senior Member
 
Amtrakdavis22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 308
Default

Alright thanks Jim. What do you think would be a good shutter speed would be for a train around 80mph?
Amtrakdavis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:24 AM   #4
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,982
Cool

Put me down for bad cropping advice!

May I suggest you look at this post?

http://forums.railpictures.net/showt...light=beginner

My quickie wisdom:

1 Sun behind your back.
2 Camera in Manual.
3 Low ISO like 200, shutter 500 or 1000 to get the locomotive sharp.
4 Pick your focus point where the loco will be.
5 Composition: Off Center is Better!
__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:28 PM   #5
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amtrakdavis22 View Post
Alright thanks Jim. What do you think would be a good shutter speed would be for a train around 80mph?
Well, I think you'd be better starting out with a wider aperture. You shot that a f10. f5.6 would have enabled you to shoot closer to 1/250th. However, that may not have been fast enough either, so bumping the ISO up from 100 to 200 would have allowed you to shoot at 1/500. So, f5.6, 1/500th and ISO 200 would have given you a similar exposure and froze the train.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:49 PM   #6
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

A few other things to keep in mind next time you're out:
- Make sure you can see the head of the rails without anything in the way (such as grass)
- Do what you can to manage the placement of trackside telephone poles (so they don't look like they're sticking out of the top of the train).
- Remember that you're having fun and learning something, even if the shots don't get accepted right away. Keep at it, keep a positive attitude, and you'll be shooting better quality photos in no time.
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:40 PM   #7
crazytiger
Senior Member
 
crazytiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NS Greenville District
Posts: 1,473
Default

No trackside telephone poles for me.

I just noticed it, but based on the title of this thread, what is good cropping advice?
__________________
Peter Lewis | Portfolio | Profile | Flickr | Facebook

Canon EOS 40D
Canon EF 50 f/1.8 II
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM


Quote:
Originally Posted by A Friend
everytime i see non-train photos of yours i think, "so much talent. wasted on trains."
crazytiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 12:27 AM   #8
Chase55671
RailPictures.Net Crew
 
Chase55671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nitro, WV
Posts: 2,194
Send a message via AIM to Chase55671 Send a message via MSN to Chase55671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amtrakdavis22 View Post
Alright thanks Jim. What do you think would be a good shutter speed would be for a train around 80mph?
As Jim said, you had good light, but unfortunately, you messed up on the settings and the foreground clutter, thus, I personally find, making it hard for these photos to make it in the DB. I'll add to what others have said.

An 80MPH train will need a decent shutter speed to freeze the train, regardless of your angle. A telephoto photo, or the simple "wedge" will require something above 1/250" at F7.1 with an ISO of 100. For safety, you may wish to either decrease the aperture to F5.6 or perhaps increase the ISO from 100 to 200, that way you can reassure yourself that you'll have a "crisp" photo. The following was done at 1/320"..

Image © Chase55671
PhotoID: 301830
Photograph © Chase55671


This one was done at 1/250"..

Image © Chase55671
PhotoID: 300876
Photograph © Chase55671


I would've preferred to have done a faster shutter speed on the above photo, but thankfully, it still turned out decent.

An angle like the one below, required a faster shutter speed in attempt to freeze the train, due to a slightly different angle than the above photos. This angle, which shows off a bit more of the side of the train, is also known for increasing your chances of blur, especially for a fast moving train, such as Amtrak. Thus, with that being said, I increase it to 1/640" to prevent as much blur as possible.

Image © Chase55671
PhotoID: 270589
Photograph © Chase55671


Hope this helps,
Chase

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis A. Livesey View Post
My quickie wisdom:

1 Sun behind your back.
2 Camera in Manual.
3 Low ISO like 200, shutter 500 or 1000 to get the locomotive sharp.
4 Pick your focus point where the loco will be.
5 Composition: Off Center is Better!
Quick and effective, Dennis! I like it!
__________________
Chase Gunnoe
Railpictures.Net Crew
Rail-Videos.Net Crew
Click here to view my photos at Railpictures.Net
SLR Night Photography Tutorial | Railpictures.Net Beginners Guide
Chase55671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 12:30 AM   #9
Amtrakdavis22
Senior Member
 
Amtrakdavis22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 308
Default

Thanks everyone! I'm still getting use to my new DSLR. Just got it a couple weeks ago. I will learn from this and hopefully get it right next time. Once again I value all of your advice/feedback. Thanks -JT
Amtrakdavis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 12:32 AM   #10
Chase55671
RailPictures.Net Crew
 
Chase55671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nitro, WV
Posts: 2,194
Send a message via AIM to Chase55671 Send a message via MSN to Chase55671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amtrakdavis22 View Post
Thanks everyone! I'm still getting use to my new DSLR. Just got it a couple weeks ago. I will learn from this and hopefully get it right next time. Once again I value all of your advice/feedback. Thanks -JT
Are you using manual settings?

Chase
__________________
Chase Gunnoe
Railpictures.Net Crew
Rail-Videos.Net Crew
Click here to view my photos at Railpictures.Net
SLR Night Photography Tutorial | Railpictures.Net Beginners Guide
Chase55671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:28 AM   #11
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chase55671 View Post
Are you using manual settings?

Chase
Not this again!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 02:27 AM   #12
Chase55671
RailPictures.Net Crew
 
Chase55671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nitro, WV
Posts: 2,194
Send a message via AIM to Chase55671 Send a message via MSN to Chase55671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
Not this again!


Chase
__________________
Chase Gunnoe
Railpictures.Net Crew
Rail-Videos.Net Crew
Click here to view my photos at Railpictures.Net
SLR Night Photography Tutorial | Railpictures.Net Beginners Guide
Chase55671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 03:30 AM   #13
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazytiger View Post
No trackside telephone poles for me.

I just noticed it, but based on the title of this thread, what is good cropping advice?
Well, he said he wanted bad cropping advice. Therefore, center your subjects, cut off plows and the end of trains.

__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com

Last edited by Joe the Photog; 01-20-2010 at 03:37 AM.
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 03:35 AM   #14
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chase55671 View Post
Are you using manual settings?

Chase
What does this have to do with cropping?

Ben

PS : Nothing, btw.
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:04 AM   #15
Chase55671
RailPictures.Net Crew
 
Chase55671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nitro, WV
Posts: 2,194
Send a message via AIM to Chase55671 Send a message via MSN to Chase55671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asis80 View Post
What does this have to do with cropping?

Ben

PS : Nothing, btw.
Ben,

Not sure if you've been following the thread or not, but the blurry locomotive on the first image is the main problem over the cropping. It was a 1/60th exposure, which could've been a result of using auto settings, hence my question.

Chase
__________________
Chase Gunnoe
Railpictures.Net Crew
Rail-Videos.Net Crew
Click here to view my photos at Railpictures.Net
SLR Night Photography Tutorial | Railpictures.Net Beginners Guide
Chase55671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 06:31 AM   #16
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asis80 View Post
What does this have to do with cropping?

Ben

PS : Nothing, btw.
It was a pretty valid question by Chase considering we (Chase and I) were discussing camera settings with the OP due to his blurry shot. Just sayin'.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 02:10 PM   #17
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,895
Default

Jim, Dennis and Nick all made comments outside the realm of cropping -- and I would have if the issues hadn't been touched on before I found the thread -- yet Ben only brought up Chase's question. Interesting.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:19 PM   #18
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Hoooooooooooooooooooooooooly cow guys. REALLY didn't mean it to sound harsh, haha. I was just joking with you Chase. Haha, really was.

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:31 PM   #19
LSRC Railfan
Senior Member
 
LSRC Railfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 274
Default

I was told that 1/640th was a good starting point. Granted, this isn't necessary when shooting a 10mph train and posting the shot strictly on the internet, but I myself wouldn't go slower than 1/640th if I were shooting a 60 mph train.
LSRC Railfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:49 PM   #20
stevenmwelch
Senior Member
 
stevenmwelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 720
Send a message via AIM to stevenmwelch Send a message via Yahoo to stevenmwelch
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSRC Railfan View Post
I was told that 1/640th was a good starting point. Granted, this isn't necessary when shooting a 10mph train and posting the shot strictly on the internet, but I myself wouldn't go slower than 1/640th if I were shooting a 60 mph train.
I use 1/640th f 7.1 as a start for straight sun, and go from there with what the light meter wants to do... If I'm in high speed train territory (60MPH+) I'll even jump the ISO to 200 to stop it.
__________________
Steven M. Welch
Minot, ND
I gots my floaties and I'm ready to go railroadin' in Minot.
My Photos on RP
My RP Rejects and then Some
stevenmwelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 06:10 PM   #21
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenmwelch View Post
If I'm in high speed train territory (60MPH+) I'll even jump the ISO to 200 to stop it.
Gosh, "even jump the ISO to 200" - what a drastic measure!

People are too concerned about noise sometimes, me thinks. I shoot ISO 400 frequently and I've got an old 20D.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 06:30 PM   #22
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenmwelch View Post
I use 1/640th f 7.1 as a start for straight sun, and go from there with what the light meter wants to do... If I'm in high speed train territory (60MPH+) I'll even jump the ISO to 200 to stop it.
So then you bump up the shutter speed to 1/1250, right?
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 06:48 PM   #23
cblaz
Senior Member
 
cblaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Marlboro, New Jersey
Posts: 1,007
Default

Unless you're shooting super wide, or along the Northeast Corridor, there's really no need to shoot above 1/500.

- Chris
__________________
- Christopher Blaszczyk
My shots on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=284
cblaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 06:59 PM   #24
Walter S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Walter S
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cblaz View Post
Unless you're shooting super wide, or along the Northeast Corridor, there's really no need to shoot above 1/500.

- Chris
I sometimes have to shoot over 1/500 to stop the Shays.
__________________
Walter Scriptunas II
Scriptunasimages.com
Walter S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:30 PM   #25
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog View Post
Well, he said he wanted bad cropping advice. Therefore, center your subjects, cut off plows and the end of trains.

Say Good Night, Gracie.

Good Night, Gracie.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.