Old 12-10-2007, 06:43 PM   #1
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default Kodacolor Gold 1000

Does anyone have any experience scanning Kodacolor Gold 1000?

Luckily, I didn't mess with this horrible film too often, but I did do some (including one entire railfan trip when I must have lost my mind).

I can't figure out how to scan it. The grain has grain.

Is it hopeless? Is there a way to do it?
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 09:40 AM   #2
Wizzo
Senior Member
 
Wizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freericks
Does anyone have any experience scanning Kodacolor Gold 1000?

Luckily, I didn't mess with this horrible film too often, but I did do some (including one entire railfan trip when I must have lost my mind).

I can't figure out how to scan it. The grain has grain.

Is it hopeless? Is there a way to do it?
Although 1000ISO film may be beyond help, I found the best way to scan negs (mainly 200ISO) was as soft as possible to minimise the grain, run it through Noise Ninja with no sharpening, then pull it into Photoshop. In PS rather than using the full Unsharp Mask menu item, I used an add-on called Intellisharpen which helps selectively Unsharp Mask parts of the photo while not accentuating the grain on areas such as the sky.
__________________
STEVE

Press here to see my pics on railpictures.net

More pics here D1059 on Flickr

Last edited by Wizzo; 12-11-2007 at 11:12 AM.
Wizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 09:18 PM   #3
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default

Thanks Steve... looks like I'll need to acquire some new programs to try it out. I will let you know how it turns out when I do. Charles
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 09:07 AM   #4
Wizzo
Senior Member
 
Wizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freericks
Thanks Steve... looks like I'll need to acquire some new programs to try it out. I will let you know how it turns out when I do. Charles
Let us all know how you get on.

I forgot to mention that after using Intellisharpen and resizing, I will then put the shot back through Noise Ninja for some final sharpening (but no more noise removal).

This method didn't work for my grainiest slide film though (oh how I wish I had stuck with Fuji slide film in the early 80's)
__________________
STEVE

Press here to see my pics on railpictures.net

More pics here D1059 on Flickr
Wizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 12:57 PM   #5
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Yeah, but scanning my Fuji slide film makes it look grainy....the lack of grain has grain! Blast it all!
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 12:59 PM   #6
Wizzo
Senior Member
 
Wizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40
Yeah, but scanning my Fuji slide film makes it look grainy....the lack of grain has grain! Blast it all!
If you think Fuji is grainy, you should try Agfa
__________________
STEVE

Press here to see my pics on railpictures.net

More pics here D1059 on Flickr
Wizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 08:12 PM   #7
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

I wouldn't know, I'm a digital man trapped in a film body
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.