Old 12-24-2010, 09:34 PM   #1
GuilfordRailSD45
Member
 
GuilfordRailSD45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 50
Default T1i or T2i? (camera question)

Hello Everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the proper area of the forum to post this question in, but I believe I've seen similar questions posted in this area.

Anyways, I just received a Canon EOS Rebel T1i for Christmas, along with a 55-250 mm lens.

Now, I have two choices - I can keep the T1i, or I can give my father $100 to instead purchase the T2i.

The only real difference that I can see is the 15 megapixels of the T1i vs. the 18 megapixels of the T2i.

So I suppose my two main questions are:
1) Is there a huge noticeable difference between 15 mp and 18 mp?
2) I'd call myself an "advanced beginner" - is the T2i really worth the extra $100? (I suppose this question is pretty much based on my first question, in a sense).

That's all - Thankyou in advance for responses.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all.
-Steve
__________________
Stephen Arata

Railfanning the elusive Guilford/ Pan Am since '06

My RP pix : http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=20376

GuilfordRailSD45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 09:50 PM   #2
Soo 6060
EMD > GE
 
Soo 6060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 285
Default

It depends on what you want to do with your photos. If you just want to submit them to railpictures.net, then stick with your camera.

Now, say if you wanted to make large blow-ups of your photos for say, a model railroad backdrop, your going to want more pixels.

That 55-250 EF-S IS lens is really nice, by the way. I love mine.
Soo 6060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 10:14 PM   #3
GLC 392
Member
 
GLC 392's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 70
Default

I have the T1i and i really like it, it does just fine for what i do with it. The 55-250 is not a bad lens but it does act up every now when its trying to find what it wants to focus on. Even with the kit 18-55 lens you can do some pretty awesome stuff.

Here are a couple of shots i took with the 18-55



__________________
"I have the Connections"

Last edited by GLC 392; 12-24-2010 at 10:17 PM.
GLC 392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 10:49 PM   #4
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Steven, you need to learn how to link to your RP images. You get more views, we get to see the caption and other info.

{photoid=349370} except use a square bracket on each end


Image © Steven Mckay
PhotoID: 349370
Photograph © Steven Mckay

Image © Steven Mckay
PhotoID: 345147
Photograph © Steven Mckay
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots

Last edited by JRMDC; 12-25-2010 at 12:05 AM.
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 11:36 PM   #5
GLC 392
Member
 
GLC 392's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 70
Default

Thanks, i get a brain fart when posting the photo links.
__________________
"I have the Connections"
GLC 392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 12:52 AM   #6
Northern Limits
Senior Member
 
Northern Limits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 611
Default

I have a T1i that serves me well, once I learned its idiosyncrasies. (Check my pics from the last year.)
If you plan on shooting any video you may want to go for the T2i. You can't adjust the zoom with the T1i while shooting video.
__________________
Cheers, Jim.


Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Northern Limits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 12:19 PM   #7
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soo 6060 View Post
It depends on what you want to do with your photos. If you just want to submit them to railpictures.net, then stick with your camera.

Now, say if you wanted to make large blow-ups of your photos for say, a model railroad backdrop, your going to want more pixels.

That 55-250 EF-S IS lens is really nice, by the way. I love mine.
15mp is probably more than plenty for large prints. I had a 24x36 print made from my 350D (8mp) and it looks like it came from a film image.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 01:38 PM   #8
Soo 6060
EMD > GE
 
Soo 6060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
15mp is probably more than plenty for large prints. I had a 24x36 print made from my 350D (8mp) and it looks like it came from a film image.
Maybe with the 18mp, he will want to make bill-board adds?
Soo 6060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 04:43 PM   #9
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soo 6060 View Post
Maybe with the 18mp, he will want to make bill-board adds?
There you go!
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 07:07 PM   #10
GuilfordRailSD45
Member
 
GuilfordRailSD45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 50
Default

I would like to say thankyou to everyone for the input. I've decided to stick with the T1i, and I'm sure I'll be more than happy with it.
I'd love to go out right now and try and shoot some Pan Am (Guilford, whatever ya call it) action, but something tells me I will not have much luck on Christmas day (The Big G is slow enough as is )
__________________
Stephen Arata

Railfanning the elusive Guilford/ Pan Am since '06

My RP pix : http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=20376

GuilfordRailSD45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 04:31 PM   #11
Drew.Sabens
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sleepy Hollow, NY
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Drew.Sabens
Default

T1i to T2i not a big enough jump to be worth it. If you were going to make a jump I would go to one of the prosumer bodies, aka the new 60 (dad just got one of them and its nice)

Save your $$ and get your self a few nice L glass lenses as good glass will help you take better photos then a better body.
Drew.Sabens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 01:49 AM   #12
Justin Franz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Whitefish, Montana.
Posts: 5
Default

Good choice with sticking with the T1i. I got one this past summer before a big road trip since I wanted to have a back up. It's a nice camera, but I'm still using my XTi as my primary camera, mainly because I know it better! One issue I have had is that the color on my T1i seems a little two vibrant (espec. clear blue skies which come out a little too blue for my taste.)

Other then that, It's a good body. Here's an image I got with it this past summer.

Image © Justin Franz
PhotoID: 331725
Photograph © Justin Franz


Justin Franz
Justin Franz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:09 AM   #13
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew.Sabens View Post
T1i to T2i not a big enough jump to be worth it. If you were going to make a jump I would go to one of the prosumer bodies, aka the new 60 (dad just got one of them and its nice)

Save your $$ and get your self a few nice L glass lenses as good glass will help you take better photos then a better body.
Right on the mark, If your goal is sharp photos the best glass is needed, Camera body's wont do it! You can by a $7000 1Ds MK3 and put a cheep lens on it and it wont look better then the shots you're getting with a T1i ! With the same lens. 12 MP is more then plenty to do what you need.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:15 AM   #14
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Franz View Post
One issue I have had is that the color on my T1i seems a little two vibrant (espec. clear blue skies which come out a little too blue for my taste.)


Justin Franz
Thats in the settings, Your shooting jpeg so find picture style and find "Faithful". The camera comes set for the snap shot and print shooters
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:38 PM   #15
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,895
Default

It's silly to have a T1i, but use an older generation camera because of color issues. First, stop shooting on JPEG. No color issues like that in RAW. Second, any color issues you have can be fixed easily in post processing. That's like having two trucks. One is a 4X4 and the other is not. But when it snows you don't use the 4X4 because you can't control the temperature inside the car.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:39 PM   #16
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,895
Default

I said "on JPEG" but meant "only JPEG." Same difference.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:46 PM   #17
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Megapixels are overrated. Look into the other differences if any between the 2 cameras.

None of my photos are taken with more than 12mp camera. Personally I would rather have a used 40d than any rebel...
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:55 PM   #18
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog View Post
I said "on JPEG" but meant "only JPEG." Same difference.
You CAN edit your posts, ya know.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 04:33 PM   #19
BarrySr
Senior Member
 
BarrySr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Arlington, Tx.; home of the Texas Chokers
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to BarrySr
Default

Jim, Joe is still busy trying to find the duce option in Photoshop, so he can properly re-duce the image size.

Hi, Joe! Great post on fb! lol.
__________________
BarrySr
KE5YYR


"I dug 'dem boats when diggin' em wasn't cool"


"Why are the crazy people so enamorate of all things EMD?" [Holloran Grade]

____________________

View My Photos on Railpictures.net
BarrySr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:42 PM   #20
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarrySr View Post
Jim, Joe is still busy trying to find the duce option in Photoshop, so he can properly re-duce the image size.

Hi, Joe! Great post on fb! lol.


Thanks, Barry! Glad you got a kick out of it!
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:10 PM   #21
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ironically enough, i was in the same debate ( except it was GETTING the T2i or T1i ).. I was looking at the T2i since it has the video capabilities and 18 MP. Thanks for the information everyone.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.