Old 02-02-2011, 11:49 PM   #1
WisconsinCentral
Senior Member
 
WisconsinCentral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Brighton Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default Editing

I was wondering how some of you edit your shots? Specifically I am wondering if Im doing something wrong or just using a program that is a bit outdated.

I've noticed on most of my shots jagged power lines, and while I see that other people obviously get them too it seems to be a lesser degree. So Im wondering if some of you compensate in the settings somewhere to have a softer, more "open" pixel feeling than the tack sharp and almost too jagged look some photos get.

What I mean by open is that the shot looks less compressed and has more of a standard 1:1 look when being resized to the RP guidelines. Such as this shot:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...51779&nseq=119

Notice the powerlines and other normally jagged objects seem a bit more "layed back". Maybe Im just going insane, which I wouldn't have much of an argument against, but I was wondering if there were tricks to keeping shots naturally sharp looking instead of jagged. Shallow depth of field or less sharpening in-camera?

I have a D90 and my new 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII, so I think my equipment should be able to render somewhat similar results to others with a bit better gear.

Thanks guys,

Alec
__________________
The future is uncertain, so take the shots now.
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=8714
WisconsinCentral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:28 AM   #2
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

All the sliders too 11, man. I've got CS5 which goes to 11. It's 1 better than CS4.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 01:26 AM   #3
WisconsinCentral
Senior Member
 
WisconsinCentral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Brighton Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

CS5= Adobe Photoshop Elements 9?
__________________
The future is uncertain, so take the shots now.
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=8714
WisconsinCentral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:55 AM   #4
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WisconsinCentral View Post
What I mean by open is that the shot looks less compressed and has more of a standard 1:1 look when being resized to the RP guidelines. Such as this shot:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...51779&nseq=119
I was just out drinking with Aaron. I'll have to alert him to this thread.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:08 PM   #5
WisconsinCentral
Senior Member
 
WisconsinCentral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Brighton Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

Along with doing that, you could share your super duper secret editing techniques!
__________________
The future is uncertain, so take the shots now.
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=8714
WisconsinCentral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:43 AM   #6
rathman11
Senior Member
 
rathman11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bolivar, MO
Posts: 243
Default

Alec, I am using PSE7 for my post processing work. I work through the following steps:

1) Load photo and adjust USM to 75, 0.6 and 0.
2) Rotate to level if necessary
3) Make color and level adjustments if needed
4) Crop
5) Resize
6) USM (usually 40-80%)
7) Save as the highest quality

Hope this helps!
__________________
Jason R.

My RP photos

Flickr Photos
rathman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 05:54 AM   #7
WisconsinCentral
Senior Member
 
WisconsinCentral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Brighton Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

Thanks Jason! I actually downloaded the CS5 30 day free trial, and needless to say I feel much better. I was clearly using outdated software that just wasn't doing my camera justice. Ive been re-editing alot of my stuff and its turned out to be a lifesaver, in terms of the high quality sharpening job along with exporting.

Alec
__________________
The future is uncertain, so take the shots now.
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=8714
WisconsinCentral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:47 AM   #8
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rathman11 View Post
Alec, I am using PSE7 for my post processing work. I work through the following steps:

1) Load photo and adjust USM to 75, 0.6 and 0.
2) Rotate to level if necessary
3) Make color and level adjustments if needed
4) Crop
5) Resize
6) USM (usually 40-80%)
7) Save as the highest quality

Hope this helps!
I was told to do the USM last, but if it works for you.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:03 PM   #9
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milwman View Post
I was told to do the USM last, but if it works for you.
We've discussed this before, lots of people do USM twice, the second time at the end (as Jason does).

I don't do an earlier USM but I have the sharpness setting in Adobe Camera Raw set to 25 so I guess I do sharpen twice. That was the default and I never found reason to change it.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:02 PM   #10
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

I also use PSE 7.

1) Load photo to computer
2) Rotate CCW to almost level (I lean 1% CW)
3) Boost to Joe Blue, even on cloudy days; also over use shadow and highlight tool
4) Crop
5) Resize and USM in increments to 2048 pixels wide (for Flickr)
6) Add copyright to File Info although this will stop no one for stealing the photo
7) Resize to miniscule and out dated 1024 pixels wide for RP
Sharpen the hell out of it one last time
9) Upload to RP
10) Keep hitting refresh on "Members" page until photo has been screened
11) Look over new photos making mental notes of other shots that should not have made it in case mine was wrongly rejected
12) Realize that maybe the screener was not high when he rejected my photo and make changes to it or either file it away on Flickr
13) Rine and repeat

Unless my photo did make it at which point

12) Mentally high five the screener for his awesome choice in accepting my shot
13) Send out a link to every YahooGroup remotely interested (or not) hoping for a Top of 24. (I mean, come on, if a shot of a circus train in bad weather can be saved because of green vests, I can get anything on the front page for at least an hour or so.) Also link on Facebook
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com

Last edited by Joe the Photog; 02-05-2011 at 10:05 PM.
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:53 AM   #11
stlgevo51
Senior Member
 
stlgevo51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog View Post
Sharpen the hell out of it one last time
About how much do you sharpen the photo each time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog
13) Send out a link to every YahooGroup remotely interested (or not) hoping for a Top of 24. (I mean, come on, if a shot of a circus train in bad weather can be saved because of green vests, I can get anything on the front page for at least an hour or so.) Also link on Facebook
I like your style! I've tried to manipulate my way to a TO24 before, such as pulling a shot out of the queue because a ton of old shots or wreck shots have been accepted, and I have no hope of getting a top of 24. Of course, with my luck, the photo never makes it to the top anyway. I've had about 4-5 shots come in third or fourth place, only to lose to an old shot or a wreck shot. I hate when that happens.
__________________
Jake
Railpictures Shots RP stuff.
Flickr Shots All the RP stuff plus some failed experiments, wedgies, and junk.
Youtube Videos
stlgevo51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 04:14 AM   #12
crazytiger
Senior Member
 
crazytiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NS Greenville District
Posts: 1,473
Default

Jake, looking at what photos have just been uploaded, really isn't a good way to do it. The better way is to look through the queued images to see if their are any beasts, then decide.
__________________
Peter Lewis | Portfolio | Profile | Flickr | Facebook

Canon EOS 40D
Canon EF 50 f/1.8 II
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM


Quote:
Originally Posted by A Friend
everytime i see non-train photos of yours i think, "so much talent. wasted on trains."
crazytiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:32 PM   #13
WisconsinCentral
Senior Member
 
WisconsinCentral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Brighton Minnesota
Posts: 361
Default

LMAO Joe...
__________________
The future is uncertain, so take the shots now.
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=8714
WisconsinCentral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:44 PM   #14
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Joe, don't give me any ideas
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.