Old 12-27-2008, 07:18 PM   #1
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default Why is MAC preffered for photo editing?

I keep hearing how much better Macs are for photo editing. But why? I've never really heard any reasons why.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 01:17 AM   #2
John Ryan
Senior Member
 
John Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 497
Send a message via AIM to John Ryan
Default

One of my reasons for having a Mac system in general is that it's a lot less likely to get some virus that comes through and trashes your files. Plus, color profiles are supported, file browsing is a snap, and it never has problems. My current Apple laptop is six years old, has been a trooper, and I'll buy another one within the next few months. I'd keep this one, except that it's a little sluggish with those 28MB RAW files.
John Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 02:22 AM   #3
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

We use Imac G5's at school. I hope to buy one for myself by the end of the year.

My biggest reason for wanting one is mentioned above, virtually no viruses. I have had so much trouble with viruses on my PC in the past few weeks that I actually had to buy real Anti Virus software.

I also like the size of the ones at school, everything is right there inside the monitor, all of it, that is a big space saver, though PC's are slowly starting to adapt this(like the new HP's). I also like the fact that if a program freezes up you usually have the ability to do the "force quit" operation. On PC's you can try doing CTRL ALT DLT but 99% of the time this does not work and only prolongs the problem.

Operation wise, the ones at school are usually flawless, they work faster, I can work on more images, and do more. I can not compare my PC at home to the Macs at school, mainly because my PC is 3 or 4 years old and only has 256mb of ram.
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 02:39 AM   #4
Mike B.
Banned
 
Mike B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bowman
My biggest reason for wanting one is mentioned above, virtually no viruses. I have had so much trouble with viruses on my PC in the past few weeks that I actually had to buy real Anti Virus software.
I've had the same PC for nearly 4 years and I haven't had a single virus. You just have to control what comes into your computer it's very easy to do without spending a single cent on software.
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 03:36 AM   #5
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike B.
I've had the same PC for nearly 4 years and I haven't had a single virus. You just have to control what comes into your computer it's very easy to do without spending a single cent on software.
Same here! I do pay for McAfee which also bogs the computer down but not many issues at all. Knock on wood!
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 04:50 AM   #6
Watain
-_-
 
Watain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hiltons, Virginia, USA
Posts: 953
Send a message via MSN to Watain
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
Same here! I do pay for McAfee which also bogs the computer down but not many issues at all. Knock on wood!
McAffe is useless and horridly overpriced. I use Ad-Aware, I had a large virus on my desktop at one time, I paid $85 for McAffe, and it couldn't find the virus; and it was blinking several different viruses on the taskbar. I scanned with Ad-Aware and it found every single virus and removed it.

Speaking of viruses I should probaly scan. lol
Watain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 07:37 AM   #7
chico
Member
 
chico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Madcity, WI.
Posts: 40
Default free anti-virus software

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
Same here! I do pay for McAfee which also bogs the computer down but not many issues at all. Knock on wood!

travis, when your McAffee subscription ends, download the free antivirus software from Avast.com

Works great, updates automatically, and free to home users
chico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 04:44 AM   #8
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike B.
I've had the same PC for nearly 4 years and I haven't had a single virus. You just have to control what comes into your computer it's very easy to do without spending a single cent on software.

If it is so easy, please share your secret.
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 07:05 AM   #9
Mike B.
Banned
 
Mike B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bowman
If it is so easy, please share your secret.
Just get a decent firewall and get a script blocker for your browser. I don't even use any anti-virus software but I do check the task manager regularly to make sure no processes are running that shouldn't be.

Simple, eh?
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 03:33 PM   #10
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bowman
If it is so easy, please share your secret.
Firefox + Spybot + Noscript + AVG antivirus + NEVER USING MS EXPLORER!

All free, all effective. No popups, viruses, spyware, spam, junk, poo, or crap.

Loyd L.
__________________
Social Media elevates the absurd and mediocre to a point where they aren't anymore, and that is a tragedy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 02:02 PM   #11
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike B.
I've had the same PC for nearly 4 years and I haven't had a single virus. You just have to control what comes into your computer it's very easy to do without spending a single cent on software.
Amen! I'm not anti-Mac or pro-PC but the virus thing is overblown. I've never known or personally heard of a person who lost files due to a virus. Hard disk failure, yes, many times, back up often! But not virus. Just use an anti-virus program and you should be fine.

And especially since the various articles I read from time to time say you should have anti-virus protection on a Mac anyway, there isn't even a cost savings (to help offset the greater overall cost of a Mac).

I use the AVG suite currently, might switch to the ZoneAlarm suite.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.