Old 03-20-2009, 07:23 PM   #1
Aleks Stefanovic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brantford Ontario
Posts: 37
Default Rejected. Not sure what to do with this one.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=397168322

This shot had been rejected only for overexposed originally. After a couple of attempts to reduce the exposure now I'm being told this. Don't know why they can't say this in the 1st place.
Anyway, what suggestions do you have for this shot per this rejection.
Thanks for any advice.

Last edited by Aleks Stefanovic; 03-21-2009 at 01:12 AM.
Aleks Stefanovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:27 PM   #2
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

The lead unit looks too centered in the frame, hence the Composition/Balance rejection. I'd get rid of some of the left to follow the rule of thrids a little closer...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:37 PM   #3
Aleks Stefanovic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brantford Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

How's this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P3140366.JPG
Views:	70
Size:	817.1 KB
ID:	3950  
Aleks Stefanovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:43 PM   #4
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Too square for my tastes...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:53 PM   #5
Aleks Stefanovic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brantford Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

Height was a bit high. The 1024 was there but height was in the 8oo's. Down now to about 768. Look better?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P3140366.JPG
Views:	81
Size:	734.8 KB
ID:	3951  
Aleks Stefanovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 12:20 AM   #6
cblaz
Senior Member
 
cblaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Marlboro, New Jersey
Posts: 1,007
Default

Why do you keep cutting off the top of the signal?

- Chris
__________________
- Christopher Blaszczyk
My shots on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=284
cblaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 01:10 AM   #7
Aleks Stefanovic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brantford Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

Just trying to balance the space above and below the units. After cropping out the left side the height was out of proportion to the width.
Aleks Stefanovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 01:11 AM   #8
Aleks Stefanovic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brantford Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

In the original shot out of the camera the very top was cut off a bit. The original submitted shot that was rejected for over exposed shows the height of the original shot.
Aleks Stefanovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 01:13 AM   #9
Aleks Stefanovic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brantford Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

Just figured that since it was partially cut off anyway it would look better if I cut the rest off seeing as I couldn't add the top of the signal in.
Aleks Stefanovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 02:24 AM   #10
DWHonan
Senior Member
 
DWHonan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleks Stefanovic View Post
Just figured that since it was partially cut off anyway it would look better if I cut the rest off seeing as I couldn't add the top of the signal in.
Here's another way of thinking about it: Why would you want to show off an image that you acknowledge isn't as good as you can make it? Perhaps it's worth tossing this one in the personal archive and taking to heart the learned lesson, "be sure about the composition before taking the shot."
__________________
Dave Honan
Issaquah, WA
View my portfolio at RailPictures.net
View my portfolio at Flickr Not quite so new anymore!
DWHonan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 04:14 AM   #11
Aleks Stefanovic
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brantford Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

The focus of the shot is the train itself not the signal. If I wanted the signal in there I would have included it. The composition was not intended to show the signal. It was a good sun location for a westbound at that time so I shot the train.
Aleks Stefanovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 05:07 AM   #12
cblaz
Senior Member
 
cblaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Marlboro, New Jersey
Posts: 1,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleks Stefanovic View Post
The focus of the shot is the train itself not the signal. If I wanted the signal in there I would have included it. The composition was not intended to show the signal. It was a good sun location for a westbound at that time so I shot the train.
Sorry, Aleks, but that kind of thinking won't fly here. If you just want to show us pictures of a train, they have to be perfect. If you include stuff like signals, the shot becomes much more interesting. Also, you commented before about how you cut off the signal to balance the train between top and bottom. A lot of photographers here believe in the rule-of-thirds, which would be a good term to Google.

- Chris
__________________
- Christopher Blaszczyk
My shots on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=284
cblaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 06:26 AM   #13
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleks Stefanovic View Post
The focus of the shot is the train itself not the signal. If I wanted the signal in there I would have included it. The composition was not intended to show the signal. It was a good sun location for a westbound at that time so I shot the train.
The signal is part of the railroad scene, which includes the train, and shouldn't be cut off if you CAN include it in the composition. You should definitely try to include it next time, as it makes the overall image much more appealing.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 07:43 AM   #14
John West
Senior Curmudgeon
 
John West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 1,081
Default

From what I can see, you have some kind of cantilevered signal bridge. I would have used the signal bridge to frame the engine. As it is, what you can see of the signals seem to be growing out of the top of the engine. The radio tower in the background is not a plus, but maybe you're stuck with it. You're not just taking a picture of the train, but also of the what is around the train, like trees, buildings, mountains and so on....it all needs to be balanced and fit together into a good scene.
__________________
John West
See my pix here and
here and here
John West is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.