Old 01-17-2011, 03:44 AM   #1
Dan Tracy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Question Kodachrome 200 grain issue

I had this one kicked back at me for too grainy. I Have CS5 and found that if I tried the noise reduction in Camera Raw that it softens the image. Anyone have suggestions? Thanks. Dan Tracy
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=451970736
Dan Tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:05 AM   #2
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Here you go - all your problems will be solved...

http://www.neatimage.com/
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:45 AM   #3
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

When I process scans of slides I usually select the sky and apply noise reduction there separately.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:13 AM   #4
J. E. Landrum
RailPictures.Net Crew
 
J. E. Landrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Posts: 136
Default

Grain issue with K200? No way! As I discovered the hard way and thankfully didn't shoot too much of it, K200 is a BEAST to scan. When projected, you can see the grain. In fact, you can see the grain with the naked eye when looking at the slide. Be ready to remove lots of grain and adjust for harsh red color. Good luck with that awful stuff. I am so thankful I stuck with K25 and K64. Even those can be a challenge at times.
J. E. Landrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 09:01 AM   #5
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

I shot a lot of K200, I don't mind grain if its part of the photo. Thats something I lived with shooting TriX back in my school days as the film was free. So most of my shots wont get up loaded here.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:43 AM   #6
Dan Tracy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Default K200 Grain isssue

Thanks for the comments guys. I have Neat image but found that it softens the image more than I like. Practice, Practice, Practice. Dan
Dan Tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:57 AM   #7
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

You can adjust how much it softens.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:12 PM   #8
NS-Norfolk
Member
 
NS-Norfolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 32
Default Wow, that image is grainy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Tracy View Post
I had this one kicked back at me for too grainy. I Have CS5 and found that if I tried the noise reduction in Camera Raw that it softens the image. Anyone have suggestions? Thanks. Dan Tracy
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=451970736
KChrome 200 never struck me as a particularly grainy file and certainly not as grainy as that image. What did you use to scan it and was perhaps your scanner set for too low a resolution?

This is either a Fujichrome or KChrome image scanned on a Nikon Coolpix IV filmscanner:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...309379&nseq=11

Just my $.02
__________________
Chuck Rippel

Canon EOS 5D MKII | Canon F1n + Assorted FD Glass
Canon EF20-35mm | Canon EF24-70mm f2.8L | Canon EF28-135mm IS | Canon EF70-200mm f2.8L | Canon EF 300mm f4.0L

Chesapeake, VA

My Photos at: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=33016
NS-Norfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 05:47 AM   #9
35mmguy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MP 191.5
Posts: 51
Default

^^you have an F1n *drool
__________________
The Film Guy plus a Canon 5D, 550ex, 540ez and L lenses
35mmguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:32 AM   #10
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35mmguy View Post
^^you have an F1n *drool
T90 is a better railfan camera, Had 2 F1n, 1 F1, 2 T90's, Takes AA's and can be had cheep now.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.