Old 02-26-2007, 08:12 AM   #1
jaanfo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 161
Default AmCal Vs Caltrain... Reporting marks

Why oh Why oh Why is it that I'm often seeing incorrect reporting marks used for Caltrain? Is it that Caltrain changed reporting marks when the State began funding Amtrak? I'm really stumped.

I'm always seeing Caltrain equipment marked as "CDTX"... Where is everybody getting the idea that the Peninsula Railroad is owned and funded by the great State of California?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=95437
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=95433
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=81573
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=77564
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=69590
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=33202

BTW... I hate the "lazy way" even more.
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=32897
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=59516

CDTX happens to be the Acronym for "California Department of Transportation"... Caltrans uses it as the reporting mark on their state-owned equipment used in Amtrak California's "Capitol Corridor" and "San Joaquin" Routes, neither of which run on the Peninsula.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=82938
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=99014
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=84256

CalTrain, despite sounding very similar to Caltrans, is funded and owned by a coalition of Transit Authorities in San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley, and San Mateo County. This Coalition is called the "Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board" and thus the equipment it owns is tagged with the reporting marks "JPBX"

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=170103

My other rant is using "Southern Pacific" as the railroad when it's being pulled by a Caltrain loco, but it's more widespread then the reporting marks problems and shrouded in deeper complications.
jaanfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 09:40 AM   #2
mute
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Just to add to the confusion... when those CDTX amtrak trains copy track warrants, they use the initials AMTK.
mute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 01:09 AM   #3
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 638
Lightbulb

I'm wondering if it might be possible for a screener to edit the photographer provided information (ex. Train Number/reporting marks, railroad etc.) during the screening process before accepting it. This way the screener could catch the error and easily correct it before it is wrongly displayed to the thousands of daily visitors.

In addition to this AmCal/Caltrans inconsistency, I've persoanlly noticed other photographer supplied data errors. For example a few photos had a BNSF locomotive with Burlington Northern as the railroad, or an Amtrak locomotive with Union Pacific for the railroad. These are all clearly mistakes, but they could be easily avoided if the screener was able to edit and change the photo's data before it was accepted. Otherwise, a correction form has to be filled out, but this takes a few days to be changed, and by then most of the visitors have already viewed the photo with the incorrect information.
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!

Last edited by bnsf sammy; 02-27-2007 at 01:24 AM.
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 05:16 AM   #4
Drewster
Senior Member
 
Drewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 147
Default

All you have to do is do a correct info form, a little part that adds to the confusion is that California Department of Transportation "CDTX" is part of the Joint Powers Board or "JPBX", Caltrain is owned by amtrak, and CDTX IS AMTRAK, if thats confusing enough, so amtrak call markings are neccessary.
Drewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 11:09 PM   #5
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewster
CDTX IS AMTRAK, if thats confusing enough, so amtrak call markings are neccessary.
CDTX is not 100% Amtrak. It is a partnership between Amtrak and CalTrans. So because it is not entirely owned by Amtrak, "AMTK" reporting marks cannot be used. Plus they have a small CDTX above the number.
Image © Oaklandsub
PhotoID: 103793
Photograph © Oaklandsub
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 09:22 AM   #6
mute
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
CDTX is not 100% Amtrak. It is a partnership between Amtrak and CalTrans. So because it is not entirely owned by Amtrak, "AMTK" reporting marks cannot be used. Plus they have a small CDTX above the number.
Image © Oaklandsub
PhotoID: 103793
Photograph © Oaklandsub
That is what is so strange about it. Even though I see the CDTX on the amtrak engines, they still copy warrants using AMTK which is not on the engine anywhere. Why do they do that? Technically they do not have mainline authority.
mute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 06:33 PM   #7
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 638
Default

Based on what I have seen in the database, the locomotive is "CDTX" but the train number is still "AMTK". So if the a warrent was being copied to an actual trainset, say San Joaquin 701, I think AMTK 701 would be used to indentify the train, and CDTX to identify the locomotive.
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 12:33 PM   #8
mute
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
Based on what I have seen in the database, the locomotive is "CDTX" but the train number is still "AMTK". So if the a warrent was being copied to an actual trainset, say San Joaquin 701, I think AMTK 701 would be used to indentify the train, and CDTX to identify the locomotive.
Thats not what they do, though. They copy a warrant as AMTK 2008. I dont get it.
mute is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.