Old 02-22-2007, 06:49 AM   #1
SD70MACMAN
The man with the plan
 
SD70MACMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edmonds, Washington
Posts: 375
Send a message via AIM to SD70MACMAN
Default Canon 1200mm lens

Yes, you read that right, a 1200 millimeter lens at f/5.6. Thats pretty damn fast for a lens that size. And with a 2x multiplier, it turns into a 2400mm lens at f/8. There are believed to be only about 12 of these lenses in the world. I found it surfing around Wikipedia. Its a beast.
Official Canon site & picture: http://www.canon-europe.com/For_Home...00mm_f56L_USM/
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_EF_1200mm_lens
__________________
~Mike Bjork

UP's new slogan for Amtrak:
"We'll help you spread you wings and fly right into a siding!"

TRAINS TRAINS TRAINS!!! May the fun never end!
I'm a traitor! Im on JP.net! But all my plane shots involve trains!

BN FOREVER!

Last edited by SD70MACMAN; 02-22-2007 at 06:51 AM.
SD70MACMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 08:35 AM   #2
Drewster
Senior Member
 
Drewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 147
Default

HOLY CRAP! thats rediculously crazy, thats a telescope, probably can see the flag on the moon with that thing
Drewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 08:53 AM   #3
nwrails
Junior Member
 
nwrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Default

And only for the low price of $89,579.... It weighs more then 36lbs and it would required a 2nd Tripod just to hold it?

Daniel

Last edited by nwrails; 02-22-2007 at 09:05 AM.
nwrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 07:02 PM   #4
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

I vaguely recall someone posting an image here a few months ago.

BTW, with 2x con verter, it will only be f/11.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 07:43 PM   #5
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Oh, c'mon, we can all do 1200! Just take a $1000 400mm f/5.6 lens, crop the heck out of the file! I can take my 3504x2336 file and take 1168x778 out of the middle (1/3 in each dimension). That's almost a megapixel! If it is perfect, might get a 3x5 print out of it!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 10:37 PM   #6
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

Just use the 400mm lens with a 1.6x camera and 2x teleconverter. That would take it over 1200mm without even cropping it down.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 03:30 AM   #7
Mark Rosnick
Senior Member
 
Mark Rosnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Shiremanstown, PA
Posts: 200
Default 1200mm lens

I remember whenever Canon announced that lens. You could buy a half way decent house for 89K when origionally announced in the early '90s. I know National Geographic has at least 1, and I'm pretty certain that AP has at least 1. Don't forget the 1.6x factor with Canon digital, so it's equivelent to a 1920mm f/5.6!!!!!
Mark Rosnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 03:53 AM   #8
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Being a telemasher, I've been dreaming about this for years....plus, I also like shooting the moon. You get the picture.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:46 PM   #9
Save The Wave
trainchaser.us
 
Save The Wave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Evansville IN
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Save The Wave
Default

http://www.pbase.com/robert/image/67748045


Sweet!
__________________
You give me a golf cart, a 12 pack and a lake, I'll show you how to have fun all day - Comedian Greg Hahn

The good, the bad and the ugly. My railpics
Save The Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 12:19 AM   #10
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,632
Default

Wow, that is sweet! I'd like to see that person.

Ooops, I mean in person.

Last edited by Mgoldman; 02-25-2007 at 12:21 AM.
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 05:24 PM   #11
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederick
Just use the 400mm lens with a 1.6x camera and 2x teleconverter. That would take it over 1200mm without even cropping it down.
Only problem is, you lose some major stoppage. Forget about shooting anything moving without some ideal light or bumping the ISO way up. At least that 1200mm lens is still at f/5.6.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Save The Wave
So, which would YOU take?


Last edited by JimThias; 02-25-2007 at 05:26 PM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 03:17 AM   #12
Fotaugrafee, Ink.
Banned
 
Fotaugrafee, Ink.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 93
Default

It's a beautiful piece of equipment that, unfortunately, costs more than most new Lexus vehicles.

Canon Camera Museum

This website is golden, esp. if you like to know when a certain lens was produced / released, as I do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD70MACMAN
Yes, you read that right, a 1200 millimeter lens at f/5.6. Thats pretty damn fast for a lens that size. And with a 2x multiplier, it turns into a 2400mm lens at f/8. There are believed to be only about 12 of these lenses in the world. I found it surfing around Wikipedia.

Its a beast.
Sorry, but I don't put that much trust into multiple teleconversion devices. The 1.6x from my 20D is plenty enough when using my 75-300mm IS. To purchase a 2x converter just to get 960mm out of that lens wouldn't be worth it, IMO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederick
Just use the 400mm lens with a 1.6x camera and 2x teleconverter. That would take it over 1200mm without even cropping it down.
This is friggin' disturbing!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Save The Wave

Last edited by Fotaugrafee, Ink.; 02-26-2007 at 03:24 AM.
Fotaugrafee, Ink. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 04:12 AM   #13
jb17kx
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Default

The concept isn't that new. Canon had such behemoths before then in the FL and FD (manual, for use with A-, F-, and T- series cameras) range

http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography...ses/1200mm.htm

Doesn't make it any less cool though...
jb17kx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.