Old 12-23-2009, 09:38 AM   #1
Jesse

Default Q. How much is to much...

(kind of a long read, I really appreciate your time and feedback.)

Greetings...

I am a new member here. I stumbled across this site while doing some research one night about a year ago. I have been addicted ever since.

Before understanding the "feel/purpose" of the site, I tried unsuccessfully to upload some of my own rail fan photos. Understandably, they were rejected, shot on my cell phone camera or my old digital camera.

After hanging around for a while, I got a better feel for the site. I realize its not so much a rail fan site, but more geared toward the high quality photography of rail fans.

With the invent of digital cameras and photo editing software, the possibilities are endless. My career training was focused on graphic design and i work in the commercial printing field now.

With that being said, my question is this:

How much "after shot" editing is to much? When does the photo become "computer generated" and not just a great shot?

Do you personally have a basis for how much editing you will do to a photo?

How much editing do the veterans do?

Is it best to submit a raw photo and edit only based on rejection comments?

Basically, I am trying to get a feel for how far I can retouch a photo before it becomes "computer generated".

Thanks in advance for reading and responding, I look forward to your feedback!

~Jesse

(Instead of starting a separate thread: A question for admins/reviewers if I may. Do the photo reviewers use HD color corrected monitors?)
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 10:24 AM   #2
milwman
I shoot what I like

Send a message via Yahoo to milwman

Less is best as getting it right in camera works well. Post a shot or two and see if they get on or on this post.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 10:34 AM   #3
Jesse

Quote:
Originally Posted by milwman View Post