Old 12-12-2008, 08:19 AM   #1
jdirelan87

Default Full frame worth another $1,000?

Hi all,

Title explains it all. Trying to decide between the D300 and D700. For my purposes, pretty much the only difference between these two particular models is the D700 is full frame and about $1,000 more.

Right now I'm leaning towards the D300. In addition to the body I'm also upgrading glass as well. To get the D700 I would have to give up one of the new lens. They way I figure; lens are gonna last longer than the body, buy the highest level, full frame compatible glass and have the body catch up later.

Any suggestions?
jdirelan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 09:02 AM   #2
Watain
-_-

Send a message via MSN to Watain

Well, I am still technically a noob here, but I will offer my opinion. I'm a D80 user, I would go for the glass which is what I am trying to accomplish now, The D300 is a great camera, and I hope by the time I can acquire the glass I want that it will drop in price. Although with the D700 you are getting the D3 sensor in a smaller package, and if you get the grip you will pretty much have a D3. I have heard though that when you use a DX lens on an FX sensor it will be soft in the corners, but it might not matter that much. Nikon makes a lot more DX lenses then FX lenses though. If high ISO is your concern the D700 will be the best body for that.

You can get the D200 on B&H now for 800 bucks, something else to consider as well. It's something I am looking into as well having 2 bodies so I wont have to change lenses so often.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...al_Camera.html

Hope I was of some help.
Watain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 10:23 AM   #3
jdirelan87