Old 06-30-2008, 09:52 PM   #1
jlev
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 215
Default Just started shooting digital pix

I just started shooting digital pictures, and use a D70 Nikon camera. I use Picasa as my software to upload pix from my camera. Since I started sending pictures to railpictures.net, I have been getting rejections. People have liked my pictures, especially of trains, but I know I can do better after what I have been dealing with. Any constructive pointers are welcome. Here are two examples of my shots that were rejected. Some more will come soon.
One of them; I didn't understand what they said about the pixal requirements; whick I said 800 and 600. Thank you.

Last edited by jlev; 06-01-2009 at 12:54 AM.
jlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 10:39 PM   #2
WKUrailfan
Senior Member
 
WKUrailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 230
Default

Welcome to RP.net. Filesize with a D70 should be fine? Its probably your editing in Picasa thats scaling down your images too small or compressing your jpgs which can cause image quality rejections.

Last edited by WKUrailfan; 06-30-2008 at 11:03 PM.
WKUrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 10:49 PM   #3
Walter S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Walter S
Default

He said he was using a Nikon D70 lol
Walter S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 11:05 PM   #4
Save The Wave
trainchaser.us
 
Save The Wave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Evansville IN
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Save The Wave
Default

Welcome to the forum jlev. Can you post links to the rejections so we're able to see what they were rejected for?
From the attachments, the photos appear grossly oversharpened. You would be a lot better off using either the software supplied with the camera or a free program like Irfanview to process your photos.
http://www.irfanview.com

The D-70 is a very capable camera and you should get some good results with it.
__________________
You give me a golf cart, a 12 pack and a lake, I'll show you how to have fun all day - Comedian Greg Hahn

The good, the bad and the ugly. My railpics
Save The Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 11:43 PM   #5
jlev
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 215
Default

For the MN Comet V shot, here is what the railpictures.net photoscreeners said:Reason(s) for Rejection:
- Bad Cropping (Edges): There are visible scan edges, slide frames, etc. in the uploaded image.
- Too Much Noise/Grain: Noise is the digital equivalent of grain.
- Size (Small): Photo does not meet the minimum pixel size requirements.
- Poor Image Quality

For the NJT PL42AC, the screens said: - Bad Cropping (Edges): There are visible scan edges, slide frames, etc. in the uploaded image.
- Size (Small): Photo does not meet the minimum pixel size requirements.

I think Picasa is a good program, and as of now, I'm going to stay with it. I am actually fiddling around with the sharpen mechanisms.

I actually upload my pictures using Picasa? Could I still use Irfan as well as Picasa. I would use Irfanview ONLY to process my photos.

Yes, the D70 is a great camera, and I have had good results; even the ones that haven't been published. I have gone into My Pictures, clicked on the photo(s) that I wanted to send, go to attributes, and put the width at 800, and height at 600.
jlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 12:05 AM   #6
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Why are you reducing the size of your images so much?
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 12:14 AM   #7
jlev
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 215
Default

Just trying to follow the pixel requirements, which something tells me that I could be executing better than I probably am.
jlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 12:20 AM   #8
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlev
Just trying to follow the pixel requirements, which something tells me that I could be executing better than I probably am.
Try 1024X683 thats about the norm, see if that helps. don't set it over 200 ISO
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 12:57 AM   #9
captadam
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walter S
He said he was using a Nikon D70 lol
Is this an annoying "my equipment is better than your equipment" post, or am I taking it the wrong way?
captadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 01:00 AM   #10
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captadam
Is this an annoying "my equipment is better than your equipment" post, or am I taking it the wrong way?
You're taking it the wrong way. First poster said he was using that kind of camera. Second poster asked him what kind of camera he was using. Third poster said, he said he's using this type of camera."
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 01:11 AM   #11
captadam
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freericks
You're taking it the wrong way. First poster said he was using that kind of camera. Second poster asked him what kind of camera he was using. Third poster said, he said he's using this type of camera."
My mistake. Sorry! I guess it's time to check those reading comprehension skills.
captadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 02:20 AM   #12
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captadam
My mistake. Sorry! I guess it's time to check those reading comprehension skills.
It was an easy mistake. WKUrailfan edited his original comment, thus making it look as if Walter was laughing at what kind of camera jlev had.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 02:24 AM   #13
J Douglas Moore
Senior Member
 
J Douglas Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "It's a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captadam
Is this an annoying "my equipment is better than your equipment" post, or am I taking it the wrong way?
Next thing I know someone will be knocking my Kodak 110 Instamatic. Man those lil cubie bulbs are gettin hard to find
__________________

"Thanks for looking"

It is a proven fact that birthdays are good for you. The people with the most always live longer!
J Douglas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 02:29 AM   #14
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Douglas Moore
Next thing I know someone will be knocking my Kodak 110 Instamatic. Man those lil cubie bulbs are gettin hard to find
A pre FlipFlash 110... wow...
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 04:32 AM   #15
stevenmwelch
Senior Member
 
stevenmwelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 720
Send a message via AIM to stevenmwelch Send a message via Yahoo to stevenmwelch
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freericks
A pre FlipFlash 110... wow...
You're speaking Greek to this youngin', Charles...

__________________
Steven M. Welch
Minot, ND
I gots my floaties and I'm ready to go railroadin' in Minot.
My Photos on RP
My RP Rejects and then Some
stevenmwelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 11:41 PM   #16
jlev
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 215
Default jlev

Here is another one of my shots that was rejected:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=278095320
jlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 12:21 AM   #17
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

What I just don't understand is why you are reducing your pictures like that. This needs to be more than five times larger than it is here.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 03:28 AM   #18
jlev
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 215
Default

Here's what I did. I clicked on My Pictures, and the item that I wanted, which was the picture of the Metro North in Bridgeport. I clicked on images, and then scrolled down to attributes. I entered in a width of 1024, and a height of 683. The unit was pixels, and colors stayed as it was.
jlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 03:36 AM   #19
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlev
Here's what I did. I clicked on My Pictures, and the item that I wanted, which was the picture of the Metro North in Bridgeport. I clicked on images, and then scrolled down to attributes. I entered in a width of 1024, and a height of 683. The unit was pixels, and colors stayed as it was.
Yes... but see that huge amount of white space... that's part of what is being measured. You're doing something terribly wrong. I'm just not computer savy enough to tell you what.

Maybe someone else can chime in.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 04:37 AM   #20
gbrozny
Senior Member
 
gbrozny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 169
Send a message via ICQ to gbrozny
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlev
Here's what I did. I clicked on My Pictures, and the item that I wanted, which was the picture of the Metro North in Bridgeport. I clicked on images, and then scrolled down to attributes. I entered in a width of 1024, and a height of 683. The unit was pixels, and colors stayed as it was.

What are the dimensions of the original image? it almost looks like either the picture it's self is real small to start with, or the picture size is fine, but your photo editing software is seeing the image as being very huge, creating the large white space that will stay with the picture on the resize.
gbrozny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 02:29 PM   #21
jlev
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 215
Default

The ORIGINAL, picture is 3008-2000 megabytes.
jlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:28 PM   #22
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Out of curiosity, I tried what you described. I can't find where an images tab appears... but that's neither here nor there.

You should not be making edits with Windows. You need to be using a photography editing program, like Photoshop. If I'm understanding, you are simply assuming the download will resize for you. I think the result shows that it won't work.

What you need to do is make a copy of the image on your computer. Then, reduce that image to the correct size in a photography editing program. Then, upload that picture to RP.net without changing the dimesions on it at all.

Give that a try and let us know if it works. Good luck.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 03:09 AM   #23
jlev
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 215
Default

What is photoshop like, and should it be typed as www.photoshop.com ? Is it free, or is there a fee? I will say that that large white space bordering my photos is annoying, and it probably shouldn't even have been there.
jlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 03:32 AM   #24
Save The Wave
trainchaser.us
 
Save The Wave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Evansville IN
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Save The Wave
Default

When you resize, check your dpi. Should be set to 72. Make sure you're resizing by pixels, not something else.
__________________
You give me a golf cart, a 12 pack and a lake, I'll show you how to have fun all day - Comedian Greg Hahn

The good, the bad and the ugly. My railpics
Save The Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 04:04 AM   #25
gbrozny
Senior Member
 
gbrozny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 169
Send a message via ICQ to gbrozny
Default

What are you using to resize the image?

Also photoshop is not free, it works fine, I do not use it much I perfer to use Gimp over it, http://www.gimp.org/ and Gimp is free.
gbrozny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.