Old 11-27-2011, 10:29 PM   #76
Ron Flanary
Senior Member
 
Ron Flanary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Big Stone Gap, VA
Posts: 1,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milwman View Post
Oh I don't know but your right it's not like it was, A lot more fans have good cameras now so one isn't compelled to save history like it was in the 40-70's.
JEPG's can be saved after uploading to a tiff and discard the junk and all will be fine.
Exactly....and that's what I do. Those fine JPEGs have worked for me, though. I've had a cover on Trains, one on Railroads Illustrated, and at least four or five articles, all shot as JPEGs with a digital camera. I save what I think is worth it----copy the shots over and do any manipulation (levels or something like that), and save them as TIFs. That gets uploaded to the magazine---and then it's published. I've also had at least a dozen or more digital images in the various McMillan Publications wall calendars since I converted from film (at the end of 2004)---and I use the same process.

If I shot the same stuff in RAW----no one in the entire world would know the difference.

I honestly don't think much of what is being photographed today will exist in any retrievable format 40 or 50 years from now---for lots of technical and practical reasons. It's not like you'll be finding rare glass negatives from the 1880s in the future.
Ron Flanary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:03 PM   #77
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

JPEGs if you don't have to shoot RAW But for bad light or Night work one all most has to.
I shoot RAW most of the time but will switch to JPEG if I am going to a high frame rate and don't want to load my Buffer with big RAWs.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 01:02 AM   #78
khalucha
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 425
Default

I was a jpeg fan, but once I started to learn how to do minor raw post processing, I switched over to full raw. Yes, it take more room, but on the other had digital media is pretty cheap. I can get 300 pictures on 1 4 gig compact flash card. I have been able to save a lot more pictures that I like this way.

As for storage, I go through my pictures and keep the ones I like and delete the ones I do not. Once in a while I will burn (jpeg) the stuff I want to keep to a disk and put it to the side.
__________________
Kevin
Phoenix, Arizona

Webshot Photos

flickr stuff
khalucha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 01:20 AM   #79
John West
Senior Curmudgeon
 
John West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 1,081
Smile RAW versus JPG

I shoot RAW. In a very few instances where I have underexposed, RAW has allowed me to save the image. But in the vast majority of situations I doubt that JPG versus RAW makes any difference in the final product.

I recently sold some images to a calendar publisher. The easiest way to transmit them to the publisher was for me to take my large post processing files (that end up as TIF files in my archives), convert them to smaller JPG fine files, and then I could simply attach them to an email. This was quick and dirty, but provided more than enough quality for calendar size images. The publisher simply said he would convert them back to TIF and take it from there. Some loss of data? Sure. But not enough to trouble a demanding publisher.

It's like a lot of the things that have been discussed in this thread. There are multiple ways to get from here to there, and achieve equivalent levels of quality.

On the other hand, I do enjoy the exchange of ideas, and they do cause me to try new things and sometimes even change my ways....even at my advanced age!

JBWX
__________________
John West
See my pix here and
here and here
John West is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 09:55 PM   #80
Cameron A. Photography
Senior Member
 
Cameron A. Photography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 155
Send a message via MSN to Cameron A. Photography
Default

Just got the 5D Mk II, been using Manual settings on my T2i for a few months prior so clicking Manual on a 5D2 is pretty much the same, except now I'm working with 21mp and a CMOS/all-EF system.

You're using a 7D? Good choice, probably the best APS-C/EF-S setup you can get.

Here's a tip my good sir...use Manual settings. Manual settings, manual focus... all that jazz. It releases you from the constraints of having your DLSR find settings for you, and sometimes messing up your shots.

Manual man. Have faith in the M!

cam
__________________
cam from Toronto

The RP
The Flickr

Last edited by Cameron A. Photography; 12-02-2011 at 10:01 PM.
Cameron A. Photography is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:29 AM   #81
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron A. Photography View Post
now I'm working with 21mp and a CMOS/all-EF system.

You're using a 7D? Good choice, probably the best APS-C/EF-S setup you can get.
cam
The 5D and the 7D are both CMOS.

The APS-C sized (22.3 x 14.9 mm) sensor 7D can take take all Canon EF mount lenses including EF-S. (Short focus)

The Full Frame sized (36 x 24 mm) sensor 5D can take all Canon EF lenses except EF-S.
__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:39 AM   #82
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron A. Photography View Post
Here's a tip my good sir...use Manual settings. Manual settings, manual focus... all that jazz. It releases you from the constraints of having your DLSR find settings for you, and sometimes messing up your shots.

Manual man. Have faith in the M!
Here's a tip my good sir...use semi-auto/auto settings. Semi-auto settings, auto focus... all that jazz. It releases you from the constraints of having to find settings for your DLSR, and sometimes messing up your shots or getting distracted by the exposure/focus process over the composition.

Semi-auto man. Have faith in the AF and the Av!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 02:30 AM   #83
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
Here's a tip my good sir...use semi-auto/auto settings. Semi-auto settings, auto focus... all that jazz. It releases you from the constraints of having to find settings for your DLSR, and sometimes messing up your shots or getting distracted by the exposure/focus process over the composition.

Semi-auto man. Have faith in the AF and the Av!
I never realized it was so tough to roll the dial to pick a shutter speed. Man, some people must work up a sweat over that!
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:14 PM   #84
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

AND you can use the real wheel. Isn't that GREAT?
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 06:38 PM   #85
jnohallman
Senior Member
 
jnohallman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,527
Default

Isn't how one chooses to use a camera kind of like what kind of pictures a person chooses to shoot? Shouldn't it all come down to what they like and what works for them? As far as I can tell, the only "wrong" way to use a camera is to leave the lens cap on when you take a picture.

Jon
__________________
"Everybody talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it." - Mark Twain

Click here to see my photos on RP.net!

Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, click here. Don't even think about it. I'm warning you!
jnohallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 02:38 AM   #86
Greg P
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 1,003
Send a message via AIM to Greg P
Default

I've been using it in TV mode; and forcing the ISO. I've only been out once but I got this

Image © Greg Primrose
PhotoID: 381982
Photograph © Greg Primrose
Greg P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 07:08 AM   #87
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Exclamation Real Photographers Don't Turn Their Own Wheels.

I have an assistant that travels with me where ever I go and it is their job to turn the "wheel."

I just yell out f-stops and exposures - they do the heavy lifting.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:47 AM   #88
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg P View Post
I've been using it in TV mode; and forcing the ISO. I've only been out once but I got this
If it works for you fine but setting up a shots isn't hard and part of the fun the way I see it. Paramount to framing and getting in place for a photo.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:44 PM   #89
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnohallman View Post
Isn't how one chooses to use a camera kind of like what kind of pictures a person chooses to shoot? Shouldn't it all come down to what they like and what works for them? As far as I can tell, the only "wrong" way to use a camera is to leave the lens cap on when you take a picture.

Jon
Very true. But I just laugh when I read how complicated it must be to use M, so let's let the camera do it. I don't know, maybe I'm a little jaded about the fact that it took me 20 years before the light went off in my head about how easy it is to use manual. 20 years of potential photography wasted because I didn't "get it." But then I was like, seriously? That's how easy it is?
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:42 PM   #90
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb Prior to the late 70's there was no Program Mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
..... 20 years of potential photography wasted because I didn't "get it." But then I was like, seriously? That's how easy it is?
I think the first camera I used with auto settings was a Canon AE-1 (I still have it).

I remember that at the time, I thought that body really kicked butt and I enjoyed using it because you didn't need to fiddle with the light meter and the f-stop every time you want to take a picture.

It think nowadays everyone expects to use the easy button on everything, so people don't even think to shoot manual.

I blame Steve Jobs for that.

Apple was innovative at making technology easier to use and the world is a better place because of that.

Manual requires that the user be familiar with the equipment and skilled in it's use, rather than just pointing and shooting.

Additionally, each model of camera body is different, so it requires you to get a feel for the settings and there is a bit of a learning curve.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:56 PM   #91
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holloran Grade View Post

Manual requires that the user be familiar with the equipment and skilled in it's use, rather than just pointing and shooting.

Additionally, each model of camera body is different, so it requires you to get a feel for the settings and there is a bit of a learning curve.
Yes, there is a little learning curve for each individual body, but once you get to "know" it, you can pretty much shoot in manual like it's a point and shoot.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:00 PM   #92
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg P View Post
I've been using it in TV mode; and forcing the ISO. I've only been out once but I got this

Image © Greg Primrose
PhotoID: 381982
Photograph © Greg Primrose
That's all good and well, but you do realize by doing this, it's going to auto-select your aperture. You end up with too shallow a depth of field and it ruins your shot...
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:02 PM   #93
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
That's all good and well, but you do realize by doing this, it's going to auto-select your aperture. You end up with too shallow a depth of field and it ruins your shot...
The DOF in that particular shot looks fine to me.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:06 PM   #94
BenEPhoto
Member
 
BenEPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khalucha View Post
Jim, on the same note, why do they put JPEG in some of the higher end cameras as well? You would think it would be all RAW. Not to change subject here but a thought to ponder.
Because RAW takes longer to process and when you're on a deadline with media agencies or companies that need the photos fast and right now you have to shoot JPEG. So they leave it in for that reason.
__________________
www.benearpphotography.com

I shoot other things more than I shoot trains.....
BenEPhoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:36 AM   #95
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Yes, there is a little learning curve for each individual body, but once you get to "know" it, you can pretty much shoot in manual like it's a point and shoot.
This is true.

Sort of like the old days.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:43 AM   #96
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb A Shout Out to Nick!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark woody View Post
...Nick Benson.....
He who shall not be named.

Nick is busy reproducing, so he doesn't have time to hang out here.

Funny how that happens.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:53 AM   #97
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
The DOF in that particular shot looks fine to me.
I wasnt making reference to that specific show, just quoted him.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:59 AM   #98
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenEPhoto View Post
Because RAW takes longer to process and when you're on a deadline with media agencies or companies that need the photos fast and right now you have to shoot JPEG. So they leave it in for that reason.
Totally understandable, but I'd still love a raw-only camera body to lower the cost of not having a jpg processing system in the camera.

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
I wasnt making reference to that specific show, just quoted him.
Ah...I thought you may have been using that photo as an example.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 03:02 AM   #99
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Totally understandable, but I'd still love a raw-only camera body to lower the cost of not having a jpg processing system in the camera.

I dont think that would lower the cost one bit. Just like some people say they dont use video and would want a DSLR without video. Well, the money was spent on the R&D, at this point, adding some of these functions to DSLR's is a trivial thing, and it would not save you any money at all.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 03:02 AM   #100
Chris Z
Senior Member
 
Chris Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Libertyville, Il
Posts: 937
Send a message via Skype™ to Chris Z
Default

My Nikon D700 also shoots TIFF files. They are larger than RAW but I don't know what the advantage is.

Chris Z
Chris Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.