Old 05-07-2009, 03:23 PM   #1
KevinM

Default Experimenting with RAW and have questions....

Folks,

I've been shooting LF JPEGs for a couple of years and am generally pleased with what I get. But with so many folks extolling the virtues of shooting RAW, I've decided to experiment a little and see if buying more memory cards and bigger auxiliary hard drives is really for me. Seriously, I'd like to see what quality advantages might win me over from the "dark side". I will be doing some shooting this weekend and plan to shoot RAW+Fine JPEG at least some of the time.

I shoot Nikons...I have a D40x and a D90. I do all of my postprocessing now in PSE 6. The only Nikon software I have is whatever came with the cameras....ViewNX, I think. I believe that PSE 6 can read NEF files and with an upgrade, I think it will handle all of my cameras.

Questions:

1. Can PSE 6 do the entire job of processing a RAW file? I am particularly interested in exposure adjustments. Since I shoot JPEGS, I always nail the exposure , so I'm not EXPECTING to have to do this.....but it is touted as one of the chief advantages of RAW. So can I do this with PSE 6?

2. If the answer to Question 1 is NO, what else do I need?

3. As far as workflow is concerned, what will be different from what I do now?

Right now, I do the following:

- Level
- Crop
- Adjust Levels, Shadows/Highlights, Brightness/Contrast, Saturation
- Sharpen
- Resize
- Resharpen Lightly

Will I need to mess with color? I nearly never have to do that now.

Sorry for so many questions, but it is high time I learned what all of the RAW fuss is about.

Thanks!

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Lots of Steam Railroad stuff there from all over the US.
KevinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 04:01 PM   #2
JRMDC