Old 11-12-2007, 02:39 AM   #1
NicTrain35
Senior Member
 
NicTrain35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 758
Default Too much noise/grain

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...key=1091343219
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=184381744

Just looking for some help/opinions...thanks!
__________________
Nick Hart
Joliet, IL

My pictures at RP:
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=3955
NicTrain35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 02:46 AM   #2
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default

Nick, no offense or anything, but with over 1,000 photos in the database, one would think you would know the difference between an acceptable shot and an unacceptable one.

First, the photos are way too small, atleast in my eyes. They may be under the limit, I'm not sure, but we should all shoot for atleast 1024px.

Second, the colors are washed out, the exposure isn't good, and the lighting isn't great. Its half cloudy/sunny, creating a washout effect that just isn't great

Third, the side angle can work, but on the first one it just doesn't work. Its not a rare enough unit to make it a worthwhile "roster" shot.

Fourth, I thought you had a D-Rebel XT? The Image Quality is pretty terrible in both shots, pixelated and noisy, maybe bump down the ISO and shoot RAW's or atleast Jpeg Fine.
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:10 AM   #3
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Two things:

- Looks like it was a high, thin cloud-type of day, which led to some post processing to compensate which resulted in less than optimal quality.

- On the first one at least, it looks the subject was small in the original image but cropped heavily to emphasize it.

Got the original images? Also, what do you shoot, Nick, RAW or JPEG fine or something else?
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:20 AM   #4
NicTrain35
Senior Member
 
NicTrain35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 758
Default

I shoot JPEG for my photos.

Here are the originals, although I resized them to 1024x683 and 1024x768. I also sharpened them once in Irfanview. Could that be my problem (sharpening)?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KCS unit.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	191.0 KB
ID:	2329   Click image for larger version

Name:	1482 BN unit.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	166.4 KB
ID:	2330  
__________________
Nick Hart
Joliet, IL

My pictures at RP:
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=3955
NicTrain35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:26 AM   #5
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Here are the originals, although I resized them to 1024x683 and 1024x768.
Wait, if these are the originals, then wouldn't their dimesions be the same, even when sized down?!?

The second one, while I like the GP15s, it's just blurry...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:28 AM   #6
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default

There isn't much you can do for those photos, honestly. You must be doing something wrong if you're having IQ Problems from a 8MP DSLR.
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:29 AM   #7
NicTrain35
Senior Member
 
NicTrain35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 758
Default

Photo one was shot with a Rebel XT.

Photo two was taken with a Kodak. The sizes are different when resizing.

Hoping to get a tripod and a remote shutter release soon to help me with blurriness.
__________________
Nick Hart
Joliet, IL

My pictures at RP:
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=3955
NicTrain35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:31 AM   #8
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Photo two was taken with a Kodak.
WHY?!?!?!?!? If you have a dSLR, why would you use a Kodak PnS?!?

EDIT: For switching cameras like that, I'd reject it outright for Bad Motive!!
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:34 AM   #9
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default

I think what I did for the KCS unit is where you want it to be for exposure, but the train isn't far enough through the frame to make the shot worthwhile (not to mention huge IQ problems!). I'd say drop both
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KCS unit.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	314.4 KB
ID:	2331  
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:54 AM   #10
CNW4404
Member
 
CNW4404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kenosha, WI
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to CNW4404
Default

I have to ask; didn't you already have a tripod?

Even then, a tripod will not help in this situation here (The photos aren't blurry, just unfocused/grainy/too far cropped) Were these taken at JPG-Small/Good quality?
__________________
Chris Keating
Kenosha, WI
CNW4404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 02:36 PM   #11
hoydie17
We Own The Night...
 
hoydie17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 799
Send a message via AIM to hoydie17 Send a message via Yahoo to hoydie17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NicTrain35
Photo one was shot with a Rebel XT.

Photo two was taken with a Kodak. The sizes are different when resizing.

Hoping to get a tripod and a remote shutter release soon to help me with blurriness.
Ok, since we've already covered the rationale about switching cameras, I'll let that be after saying that to switch from a DSLR to a PNS makes absolutely no sense. It's like sitting in between two screaming kids on a plane when the attendant offered you a first class seat and a hot towel.

That being said, dude, a tripod and a shutter release ARE NOT going to help you with blurry images. The fact here is, you tried to take a photo that your camera was incorrectly set for. Either too high of an F-stop and too low of a shutter speed AND probably too high on the ISO, or you used the camera's autofocus and panned the shot before it could completely refocus again.

You're probably one of those guys that shoots 10 frames of the same train in rapid fire, rather than timing your shot for the spot where the subject will be in it's best focal distance. The autofocus sensors and motor just don't communicate that fast on a fast moving train across the horizon like this, especially at such a long focal length.

If I were you, I'd chuck that KODAK POS on the next open boxcar I saw and forget about it. If you own a DSLR, you owe it to yourself, and/or whoever bought it to LEARN how to use it.

That means actually reading all of those manuals that came with it, and retaining the information for later use. Sit by the tracks and take notes of the differences in settings, experiment a little, it's only a train.

As was said, with 1000+ photos here and God knows where else, by now, this type of technical stuff should all be nothing but obscure details to you. The fact that you're back here asking questions you used to ask me (and others) in IM's over a year ago, tells me that you're just not listening.

Sorry to be so blunt, but that's just the way it looks to me.

Sean
__________________
See my work on FLICKR: Night Stalker Photo Works on FLICKR

Or if you want to see my work here at RP.net? Click here.

"It's just a damn train son!"
hoydie17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:09 PM   #12
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoydie17
It's like sitting in between two screaming kids on a plane when the attendant offered you a first class seat and a hot towel.
Only if she stays to apply the hot towel and pamper me.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 06:22 PM   #13
hoydie17
We Own The Night...
 
hoydie17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 799
Send a message via AIM to hoydie17 Send a message via Yahoo to hoydie17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias
Only if she stays to apply the hot towel and pamper me.
If he was using a Nikon, that would be a fair comparison. he he he . . . .
__________________
See my work on FLICKR: Night Stalker Photo Works on FLICKR

Or if you want to see my work here at RP.net? Click here.

"It's just a damn train son!"
hoydie17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 07:18 PM   #14
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Senior Member
 
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 1,956
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Blaszczyk (2) Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoydie17
That means actually reading all of those manuals that came with it, and retaining the information for later use. Sit by the tracks and take notes of the differences in settings, experiment a little, it's only a train.
Si seņor! Thus includes the one en Espaņol. All kidding aside, Sean (and others) would be correct; lose the Kodak and learn the Canon. Eat, breathe, sleep XT until you learn it inside and out (literally). Don't even bother with Auto or action setting just go to Manual and practice, practice, practice! It doesn't need to be with trains. In fact I would suggest practicing on wildlife or even cars (not too obvious though) to get used to switching shutter speeds and other settings on the fly. I am always proud of myself when I get cloud-effed at the last second and still nail the exposure by just spinning the little dial without looking at the numbers.

-AB (who is one with the camera)
__________________
-Andrew Blaszczyk a.k.a. AB(2)
Proud fan of the Sabres, Islanders, Rockies, and Lions.

"My camera is an artistic medium, not a tool of terrorism."

www.ab2photography.com Coming soon!
My photos on RailPictures:
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=960
Andrew Blaszczyk (2) is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.