Old 01-02-2012, 11:48 PM   #1
BNSF2184
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default I dont Get it

The last 20 or so pics ive tried uploading have been slapped with the big r for either sharpening or color. Everything else like composition, cropping, etc.. has been fine. What I dont get is how sharpened does it have to be? I submitted this one http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=806759557 so I sharpened it. http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=908242393
BNSF2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:55 PM   #2
WMHeilman
Senior Member
 
WMHeilman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 486
Default

Well, the image quality is obviously bad. You probably don't shoot with a DSLR judging by the quality, so you may want to change your settings on whatever you shoot with. If that doesn't work and you really want to take better pictures, you'll need to upgrade.
WMHeilman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:57 PM   #3
BNSF2184
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WMHeilman View Post
Well, the image quality is obviously bad. You probably don't shoot with a DSLR judging by the quality, so you may want to change your settings on whatever you shoot with. If that doesn't work and you really want to take better pictures, you'll need to upgrade.

Yea I said all along only way to get on here is with a DSLR. But since Id rather not upgrade Ill ask, what setting should I use?
BNSF2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:17 AM   #4
nikos1
Senior Member
 
nikos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,776
Default

A DSLR is in no way a requirement, good processing is though. I have 700 some shots with a Canon superzoom (and probably about 50 with a basic 4 mp point and shoot) but I used Photoshop to process all of them.
All in all the first attempt doesnt look bad to me, I see a little JPEG artifacting in the background trees but thats it. Can we see the original full res file?
__________________


Wedge shots of blue HLCX SD60's http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7861

More wedge shots of blue HLCX SD60's http://nikos1.rrpicturearchives.net/

Video wedge shots of blue HLCX SD60's
http://youtube.com/profile?user=nikosjk1
nikos1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:36 AM   #5
troy12n
Senior Member
 
troy12n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,347
Default

Dont take this the wrong way, but if you dont see what's wrong, maybe you need glasses.
__________________
My RP.net photos
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:44 AM   #6
Amtrakdavis22
Senior Member
 
Amtrakdavis22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 308
Default

I got some images without a DSL. Of course a DSL helps, it is not needed. What I would do, is try and get a good idea of composition and then eventually when you do upgrade, it will be an easier transition. But, if you can, look into DSLRs. When I bought my XSi, I didn't think it would be that great but now I would say it was the best purchase I have done in photography. It is such a big jump from a point and shoot to a DSL.

Here are my images that were taken with a Canon Powershot 560.

Image © Jake Miille
PhotoID: 308187
Photograph © Jake Miille


Image ©
PhotoID:
Photograph ©


It's possible but can be tough when you don't control everything.
__________________
Amtrakdavis22

Flickr

RailPictures.Net
RailVideos.Net

Youtube Videos
Amtrakdavis22.com

"Love the sound of that shutter!" -Peter Lik
Amtrakdavis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:52 AM   #7
BNSF2184
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos1 View Post
A DSLR is in no way a requirement, good processing is though. I have 700 some shots with a Canon superzoom (and probably about 50 with a basic 4 mp point and shoot) but I used Photoshop to process all of them.
All in all the first attempt doesnt look bad to me, I see a little JPEG artifacting in the background trees but thats it. Can we see the original full res file?
Here it is, i resized it since the file size exceeded the limit.

Name:  phpJQ3xEZPM.jpg
Views: 190
Size:  144.8 KB

Last edited by BNSF2184; 01-03-2012 at 01:56 AM.
BNSF2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:10 AM   #8
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

It's leaning to the right.
Needs more contrast.
Needs more saturation.
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:11 AM   #9
BNSF2184
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatchetman View Post
It's leaning to the right.
Needs more contrast.
Needs more saturation.
This is the original. Before I straightend it out and what not.
BNSF2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:12 AM   #10
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

Ok. Sorry.
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:15 AM   #11
BNSF2184
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatchetman View Post
Ok. Sorry.
Its all good.

My problem is I dont know how much to sharpen it. I mean first try was under sharpened and second was oversharpened.
BNSF2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:19 AM   #12
magicman_841
Senior Member
 
magicman_841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,024
Default

Don't think you can save this one... it is soft and could use some sharpening, but the image has other flaws -- it looks like an image out of an old Sony digital camera my dad used to have that took 3 1/2-inch floppy disquettes.

I know I'm being a gear-snob here, but what camera are you using, and more importantly, at what settings?

If you have a fairly recent point and shoot, you should be able to get better images than this, granted you have it set at a low ISO and at the highest quality pixel-wise.
__________________
Mathieu Tremblay
Choo photos

Last edited by magicman_841; 01-03-2012 at 02:25 AM.
magicman_841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:23 AM   #13
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

The oversharpened reject is extremely ticky-tacky IMO. You can see a tiny halo on the top right corner of the loco, but I had to blow up the picture to see it. I think you are on the right track. There's only so much you can do with an image that is a little blurry for whatever reason. If you have to do major sharpening, it's best to only sharpen the subject rather than the whole image. when you do a lot of sharpening, things like ballast and bushes/branches tend to start to look unnatural.
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:23 AM   #14
troy12n
Senior Member
 
troy12n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,347
Default

Colors are awful, glare sucks, etc, etc
__________________
My RP.net photos
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 04:36 AM   #15
nikos1
Senior Member
 
nikos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,776
Default

Two questions, how many megapixels is your camera. Second, what program are you using to resize?
__________________


Wedge shots of blue HLCX SD60's http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7861

More wedge shots of blue HLCX SD60's http://nikos1.rrpicturearchives.net/

Video wedge shots of blue HLCX SD60's
http://youtube.com/profile?user=nikosjk1
nikos1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:04 AM   #16
sp4009
Member
 
sp4009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 37
Default

About the best I could do with it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg up5786_bnsf2184.jpg (467.9 KB, 73 views)
__________________
Joe Gartman
Locomotive Engineer, BNSF
Bakersfield, CA

My RP photos
Flickr
sp4009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:50 AM   #17
n70guy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 36
Default

I ran it thru Photo Shop and came up with this version.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg phpJQ3xEZPM 2.jpg (559.3 KB, 67 views)

Last edited by n70guy; 01-03-2012 at 05:58 AM.
n70guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:11 AM   #18
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BNSF2184 View Post
Yea I said all along only way to get on here is with a DSLR.
Wrong. Both taken with a sub-$200 PnS:

Image © Chris Paulhamus
PhotoID: 381731
Photograph © Chris Paulhamus


Image © Chris Paulhamus
PhotoID: 384599
Photograph © Chris Paulhamus


Don't let the camera be your excuse.
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:26 AM   #19
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb How old do you feel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicman_841 View Post
....... -- it looks like an image out of an old Sony digital camera my dad used to have that took 3 1/2-inch floppy disquettes.
Hey, those were pretty kick butt cameras back in the day.....

And pricey too!

The problem with this image is that it is over exposed, lacks saturation (because it is over exposed) has a pretty nasty glare on the hood and depending on which version you are looking at - may be crooked.

Perhaps try and re-shoot this at a greater angle to the track which will reduce the glare.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:00 PM   #20
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

I'm not sure, but can't you pick up a decent used DSLR for less than $200?
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:45 PM   #21
BNSF2184
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos1 View Post
Two questions, how many megapixels is your camera. Second, what program are you using to resize?

12.1 MP and some online website to resize.
BNSF2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:51 PM   #22
Greg P
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via AIM to Greg P
Default

Try using Ifranview.

It's free and very good.

Check "Apply Sharpen" and use Lanczos

http://www.irfanview.com/
Greg P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 03:25 AM   #23
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,745
Default

There's no reason that shot can't make it in. With the right editing software, that shot could be easily fixed.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.