Old 03-06-2012, 04:31 AM   #1
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default FOUR! Light Room 4 is out.

So Light Room 3 came out with a retail of $299.00.
Later it was on blowout at $69.99.

Light Room 4 is out (March 7th), new retail $149.00.

Upgrade from 3 is $79.99 [$69.99 + $79.99 = $149.98]
(You'd be out .98, or more if you paid over $69.99 for
your blow out sale copy).

B&H:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Software.html

Anyone using both Light Room and Photoshop? An expensive proposition
should you keep up with your yearly upgrades - probably time for Adobe
to loose Bridge.

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:02 PM   #2
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Nice to see LR at a permanently lower price. $300 always seemed like a lot.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:48 PM   #3
KevinM
Senior Member
 
KevinM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,983
Default

We all had to know this was coming, when they started selling LR3 at bargain basement prices.

Most of the changes I saw in the description of LR4 did not have me heading to the B&H site for an upgrade. Improved shadows & highlights management was the only thing I saw that caught my eye from an editing standpoint. I've never had issues with shadow reduction in LR. Highlight reduction was sometimes not as good as PSE. Given that I have both, I'm not too excited about LR4.

LR really bills itself as a photo management program, as opposed to a beat-all-end-all for editing. I will say, if you're the type of person who agonizes over edits, LR is far more convenient than programs like PSE, where you have to SAVE at some point, making it difficult to back out edits you decide you don't want. With LR, you don't ever HAVE to SAVE anything.

All of the above said, I still am very disappointed with the way in which Adobe Products handle .NEF images. When you open them in ACR or LR, they still don't look ANYTHING like the .JPGs that you see on your camera's LCD after taking the shot. I'm told that Nikon holds some of their processing algorithms close to the vest and that the Adobe folks have to guess what they are. There have been times that I considered going back to shooting JPGs, because many times, they look great coming right out of the camera.
__________________
/Kevin

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Lots of Steam Railroad stuff there from all over the US.
KevinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:12 PM   #4
ExNavyDoc
Senior Member
 
ExNavyDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinM View Post
All of the above said, I still am very disappointed with the way in which Adobe Products handle .NEF images. When you open them in ACR or LR, they still don't look ANYTHING like the .JPGs that you see on your camera's LCD after taking the shot. I'm told that Nikon holds some of their processing algorithms close to the vest and that the Adobe folks have to guess what they are. There have been times that I considered going back to shooting JPGs, because many times, they look great coming right out of the camera.
Capture NX2 does a better job with .NEF images than the Adobe products, IMHO, especially with details in the shadows, but the interface just so damned cumbersome compared with LR that I've pretty much given up on NX2. I may upgrade to LR4 in hopes that they may have tweaked how .NEF's are processed.

It's only, what, 80 bucks or so.
__________________
______________

Mike

My RP.net Photos Here

My Smugmug Galleries Here
ExNavyDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:33 AM   #5
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Now if they could just lower CS5 to $500 or so, I'd be happy.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:48 AM   #6
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

FOUR!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JfDtp2mfa4
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 09:27 AM   #7
Callufrax
?
 
Callufrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nth. Strathfield, Main Northern, CityRail - Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExNavyDoc View Post
Capture NX2 does a better job with .NEF images than the Adobe products, IMHO, especially with details in the shadows, but the interface just so damned cumbersome compared with LR that I've pretty much given up on NX2.
I'd have to agree with you on that, Doc, on both counts. Much sharper in NX2. Was rather unhappy with the quality in LR4.
__________________
A Thousand Miles
Cycling around the world, for FightMND, from 2021.
Callufrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 10:33 PM   #8
Bryan Jones
Senior Member
 
Bryan Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brooks,KY
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Now if they could just lower CS5 to $500 or so, I'd be happy.
Find an old copy of CS2 or CS3 and then purchase the upgrade for CS5. I did this, picking up a copy of CS2 for $40 recently and then purchased the CS5 upgrade for like $169 when Adobe had it on sale. End result is a fully legit copy of CS5 for just over $200 in the end.

Bryan Jones
Brooks,KY
Bryan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:23 PM   #9
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Jones View Post
Find an old copy of CS2 or CS3 and then purchase the upgrade for CS5. I did this, picking up a copy of CS2 for $40 recently and then purchased the CS5 upgrade for like $169 when Adobe had it on sale. End result is a fully legit copy of CS5 for just over $200 in the end.

Bryan Jones
Brooks,KY
Well, I had CS2 on my computer back in the fall but after a couple of months it melted down. Apparently there is some issue with CS2 and older ( 2008 ) macbook pros, as I found plenty of threads about the issue. The fix was just too complicated to deal with so I just deinstalled it from my computer.

I'll keep my eyes open for CS3 though.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.