Old 05-18-2011, 03:22 PM   #1
Gord McGregor
Member
 
Gord McGregor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ajax Ontario
Posts: 35
Default Image Quality

Poor image quality

Last edited by Gord McGregor; 05-19-2011 at 03:20 PM.
Gord McGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 03:33 PM   #2
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

It certainly is poor. The face of the engine looks blurry and the nearby foliage looks pretty poor. If you don't see a problem then perhaps you are not spending enough time looking at better quality images. That is not intended to be an insult, just that sometimes people don't have an appreciation of what makes good quality, and/or they have a hard time being objective with respect to their own stuff (I certainly have a problem with the latter, always a struggle to step back and see it as others do).

A Pentax K10D should do much better than this, so I suspect technique is the problem rather than equipment. First of all, shutter of 1/180 with a focal length of 250, that does not cut it unless you are using a tripod, so were you? Otherwise you have blur due to handholding a shot at too slow a shutter speed, that can't be recovered in post processing.

We would have to see the original to diagnose in more detail, that is what I see as of now.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:00 PM   #3
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

The whole thing is not in focus, even the trees. Try to keep shutter speed at least 1/400 if possible.
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:07 PM   #4
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

What are you using for a camera? An iPhone?
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:57 PM   #5
Gord McGregor
Member
 
Gord McGregor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ajax Ontario
Posts: 35
Default

Speed is actually not the issue because its a very slow train and ive used those speeds and its worked fine without a tri-pod I have trouble getting the lens to do what I need it do when I need to do it.Ive recently discussed it with a local camera store and he suggested a few modifications to the settings and using auto focus which in the past was a problem so we shall see.It is primarily a focus issue which sometimes I miss.
Gord McGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 05:09 PM   #6
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

It could be a focus issue, sure (except that I see no evidence of incorrect focus in the sense of focusing on the wrong place, rather there is nothing in focus at all), but the shutter speed issue I raise is not due to the speed of the train, it applies to any stationary object.

The issue is that, if you are hand holding, your hands can only hold the camera still to a certain degree. The more telephoto you are shooting, and here you were at 250mm and on a crop camrea that is an effective 375mm, the more that camera shake matters. A rule of thumb is that if you are at XXXmm of focal length (the effective length is what matters), you need to be at least 1/XXX in shutter speed to overcome that. So in this case at least 1/400 second or faster. And if your hands are not steady (mine are not), you need an even faster shutter speed.

And then aside from that consideration, if the train is moving, you have to have a fast enough shutter speed to deal with that motion.

Your shot looks to me like that may have been the problem. Certainly focus is another possibility and for many (most? nearly all?) of us, autofocus is wonderful. Just letting you know of another possibility. I am curious as to what other modifications to settings your store suggested.



J
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 05:50 PM   #7
oltmannd
Senior Member
 
oltmannd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 361
Default

It looks like camera shake to me, rather than focus. If it were focus, the focus would be sharp somewhere and it isn't.

It is REALLY hard to hand hold a camera steady enough at 1/250th or less with a 200mm + lens. The longer the lens, the higher the shutter speed you need. In the film days, you'd often be between a rock and hard place on the shutter speed vs. lens, but now, you have the luxury of jacking up the ISO for a single shot if you need to.
oltmannd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 05:56 PM   #8
Gord McGregor
Member
 
Gord McGregor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ajax Ontario
Posts: 35
Default

he suggested centre weight metering WB auto continuous shooting mode AFC focus and 400 iso.Really not to crazy about the 400iso idea and my camera often with the longer lens gets screwed up with the train lights so I dont know how well it will work.Its just funny because sometimes works great next time same settings it drowns out the back and only focus on the front.
Gord McGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 05:57 PM   #9
oltmannd
Senior Member
 
oltmannd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
What are you using for a camera? An iPhone?
A zero on the "helpful" meter. A two on the clever meter. If you're going to be snarky, at least be clever. Not worth the 190 bytes you spent on it.
oltmannd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 05:59 PM   #10
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gord McGregor View Post
he suggested centre weight metering WB auto continuous shooting mode AFC focus and 400 iso.Really not to crazy about the 400iso idea and my camera often with the longer lens gets screwed up with the train lights so I dont know how well it will work.Its just funny because sometimes works great next time same settings it drowns out the back and only focus on the front.
Well, auto mode + 400 iso = fast shutter speed, so he is indirectly saying do what I suggested. If you know enough about photography, you may prefer having more control with a manual or semi-manual (aperture preferred, shutter preferred) alternative. You can get to a fast enough shutter speed with lower ISO if you are willing to sacrifice aperture (not so big a deal for a telesmash, if properly focused) or if it is bright enough.

If train lights screw you up, all the more reason to go full manual.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 07:46 PM   #11
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oltmannd View Post
A zero on the "helpful" meter. A two on the clever meter. If you're going to be snarky, at least be clever. Not worth the 190 bytes you spent on it.
Thanks buddy, ad-hominem attacks are really helpful as well and they conserve scarce bytes on the internets

I think my question was pretty legitimate, if you dont, keep it to yourself, as sincerely your post serves no purpose than to elicit this type of response out of me. Congratulations.

At any rate, next time instead of being "snarky", I will look at the exif and find he is shooting a Pentax K10D and shooting ISO100, 1/250 at F13. Magic recipe for disaster hand-held shooting a moving target. Next time shoot F8 or F7.1 ISO200 or ISO400 and strive for 1/500 or faster. That is if you camera supports manual settings, I know nothing about Pentax or this camera.

There, helpful enough?

Last edited by troy12n; 05-18-2011 at 07:49 PM.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 07:59 PM   #12
barnstormer
Senior Member
 
barnstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 374
Send a message via Skype™ to barnstormer
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
What are you using for a camera? An iPhone?
I have to say Troy, that was a pretty mean comment.
__________________
Stay out of the train's way and they will stay out of your way.

See my shots on Railpictures
See my shots on RRpicturearchives
barnstormer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 08:11 PM   #13
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

He shot at 1/180, not at 1/250, according to the EXIF reader I use. Focal lenght is 250mm.

BTW, Gord, Troy's post reminds me, there is no reason to shoot at f/13, and that costs you in your shutter speed big time. Just changing to f/8 allows you to take the shutter speed to around 1/320, a great improvement. Go ISO 200, not a big deal on most cameras in terms of image quality and noise, and you get 1/640 and you are good!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 08:11 PM   #14
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnstormer View Post
I have to say Troy, that was a pretty mean comment.
Alright, i'm sorry, my second post should be more helpful
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 10:53 PM   #15
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
What are you using for a camera? An iPhone?
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnstormer View Post
I have to say Troy, that was a pretty mean comment.
How was that mean?

Image © John Ryan
PhotoID: 274503
Photograph © John Ryan


__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 12:19 AM   #16
lock4244
Senior Member
 
lock4244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The City Below Vaughan
Posts: 1,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gord McGregor View Post
he suggested centre weight metering WB auto continuous shooting mode AFC focus and 400 iso.Really not to crazy about the 400iso idea and my camera often with the longer lens gets screwed up with the train lights so I dont know how well it will work.Its just funny because sometimes works great next time same settings it drowns out the back and only focus on the front.
Gord, with that light you should easily be able to shoot ISO200, F8 or F11 at 1/500th. Ditch the metering except to check the exposure before the train arrives. Though I suppose you might have issues with a zoom lens (I don't use them as you know), but IMO letting the camera do any thinking for you is asking for it to screw you. If you go manual, you won't get a dark shot thanks to the camera metering off the headlights.

Use the force Gord, learn you camera and don't trust it to think... it can deceive you.
__________________
Mike Lockwood

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 12:33 AM   #17
barnstormer
Senior Member
 
barnstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 374
Send a message via Skype™ to barnstormer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
How was that mean?

Image © John Ryan
PhotoID: 274503
Photograph © John Ryan


I guess it wouldn't have had of been mean but I don't think he meant it as a compliment. The photo above is pretty amazing quality for a phone.

I love i phones though.
__________________
Stay out of the train's way and they will stay out of your way.

See my shots on Railpictures
See my shots on RRpicturearchives
barnstormer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 02:17 AM   #18
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
How was that mean?
I should have insulted his exposure settings but I take it he dont know any better
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 03:22 AM   #19
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Hey, it's my first cabride!
Just hit the ISO up to 200, put the aperture at F/11, and it should be MUCH better. It looks like movement blur as opposed to bad focus.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 03:56 AM   #20
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Really no need for F11 there... F8 and be there
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:58 AM   #21
sd9
Senior Member
 
sd9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnstormer View Post
I have to say Troy, that was a pretty mean comment.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gord McGregor View Post
im not seeing a problem
I agree with what J is saying and Not to be mean, but.....I think part of the problem is the fact that you say "Im not seeing a problem" in order to improve you have to be able to see what the problem is. Go in the data base and take a similar shot and put it side by side with yours, and then look at the differences.
sd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:06 PM   #22
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
Really no need for F11 there... F8 and be there
You never know, could be a very cheap lens with a max aperture of F/8
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 11:42 PM   #23
oltmannd
Senior Member
 
oltmannd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
Thanks buddy, ad-hominem attacks are really helpful as well and they conserve scarce bytes on the internets

I think my question was pretty legitimate, if you dont, keep it to yourself, as sincerely your post serves no purpose than to elicit this type of response out of me. Congratulations.

At any rate, next time instead of being "snarky", I will look at the exif and find he is shooting a Pentax K10D and shooting ISO100, 1/250 at F13. Magic recipe for disaster hand-held shooting a moving target. Next time shoot F8 or F7.1 ISO200 or ISO400 and strive for 1/500 or faster. That is if you camera supports manual settings, I know nothing about Pentax or this camera.

There, helpful enough?
No. Just redundant.
oltmannd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 11:56 PM   #24
oltmannd
Senior Member
 
oltmannd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
I should have insulted his exposure settings but I take it he dont know any better
Didn't your mother ever teach you anything? (Now, THIS is an ad-hominem attack. My previous was merely an observation.)
oltmannd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 12:17 AM   #25
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oltmannd View Post
Didn't your mother ever teach you anything? (Now, THIS is an ad-hominem attack. My previous was merely an observation.)
I was not speaking to the OP or you.

I was gonna put a real good mother jab here, but wont
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.