Old 04-28-2005, 07:22 PM   #1
Conrail6707
Junior Member
 
Conrail6707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 14
Question Blurry?

I just got this rejection. http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=119422

Doesn't look blurry to me.
Conrail6707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 07:28 PM   #2
busyEMT
Senior Member
 
busyEMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 902
Default

Needs a touch of Unsharpen Mask (USM). Look to the number boards for an idea.
__________________
Aaron Florin- Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Visit Twin Cities Railfan.com
Visit the Twin Cities Railfan forums.

Don't do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the paramedics!
busyEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 07:55 PM   #3
kooi2017
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to kooi2017
Default

It does seem a bit soft to me. It could easliy be corrected with a bit of sharpening. There's a program you can download for free called neat image that is great at touching up soft, slightly out of focus, or grainy shots.
www.neatimage.com if you want to check it out.
It's a very nicely composed shot, and with a little bit of touch up it should be accepted no problem.
kooi2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 09:01 PM   #4
RJSorensen
Senior Member
 
RJSorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 177
Default

I have this happen to me . . . the time between the focus lock and the picture being taken is enough with fast moving trains or slow shots that you get out of the 'sharp' zone some.
__________________
"No Soup For You . . . "

Please click here should you wish to view a portion of my railroad photography . . .
RJSorensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 09:48 PM   #5
Conrail6707
Junior Member
 
Conrail6707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 14
Default

I tried two more times:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=119446
Blurry (again)

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=119502
Too much grain
Conrail6707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 09:52 PM   #6
busyEMT
Senior Member
 
busyEMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 902
Default

Chalk this one up to camera movement blur. If the pic is soft, there is a good chance you can sharpen it enough. But if the shutter speed allows for a blurry picture, you can't fix that on the computer.

The more you sharpen, the grainier it will get.
__________________
Aaron Florin- Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Visit Twin Cities Railfan.com
Visit the Twin Cities Railfan forums.

Don't do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the paramedics!
busyEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 01:27 PM   #7
oltmannd
Senior Member
 
oltmannd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 361
Default

I agree with the "camera shook" diagnosis. Might look OK on a 4x6 print, but it's too visible here. If you're racked out that far on the tele, you gotta have shutter speed north of 1/500th or otherwise have a rock solid support.
oltmannd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.