Old 02-01-2009, 05:01 PM   #1
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,723
Default Darned Jaggies when resizing!

Since my switch to a Canon XS, I've been noticing a lot more jaggies after resizing to RP size from the full size camera file. They are showing up pre-sharpening, which can only lead me to believe that the 10mp files are too large for my current program (IRfanview)to re-size correctly.

Has anyone else experienced this issue, and what can be done about it?

Secondly, is this a problem with the resize option in Photo Shop Elements? If not, I think I can justify to my accountant (wife) to let me buy it.

Thanks in advance!

Loyd L.
__________________
Social Media elevates the absurd and mediocre to a point where they aren't anymore, and that is a tragedy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 05:32 PM   #2
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Are there some options you can adjust with the resizing tool? That would be my first guess...
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 06:34 PM   #3
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
Are there some options you can adjust with the resizing tool? That would be my first guess...
I tried scaling, tried different filters (Lanczos, B-Spline, Bell), tried swearing, nothing fixed it.

For reference, here's the shot I took today that got me up in arms.

I resized from 3888x2592 to 1000x667, and then sharpened with a 50/.5/0 USM.

Saved @ 90% quality for uploading

Loyd L.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	02012009 009.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	316.9 KB
ID:	3717  
__________________
Social Media elevates the absurd and mediocre to a point where they aren't anymore, and that is a tragedy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 08:48 PM   #4
Carl Becker
Senior Member
 
Carl Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,218
Default

Loyd,

I made the switch from IRFanView to Helicon some time back, and it only made me more eager to move to Elements. I've since gotten it and I've never looked back. I've noticed nothing but improvements. It's one great program.

I'm wondering if the XS may be a bit of an overload for IRFanView to handle. If anything, make the move to Helicon until you can get to Elements. I think you'll appreciate it.

~Carl Becker
Carl Becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 09:15 PM   #5
Carl Becker
Senior Member
 
Carl Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,218
Default

To demonstrate the difference between the two programs, I went back to the original of this image:

Image © Carl Becker
PhotoID: 261892
Photograph © Carl Becker


Below are two attachments, one of which was processed in IRFanView and the other in Adobe. Both copies were simply downsized and then sharpened (by 50% in Adobe, IRFanView is uncustomizeable). Note how much cleaner the Adobe copy is, especially on the rail closest to the right of the photo directly in front of the locomotive, in addition to the handrail along the side of the locomotive. The difference is pretty apparent. Hopefully this sort of demonstrates what I'm saying.

~Carl Becker
------------
Edit: I should have mentioned that the copy of the image on RP was processed by Helicon, as I was using that when I took that photo. Below, the Adobe image is on the left and the IRFanView image is on the right.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9857_adobe.JPG
Views:	141
Size:	350.3 KB
ID:	3718   Click image for larger version

Name:	9857_irfanview.JPG
Views:	142
Size:	264.2 KB
ID:	3719  

Last edited by Carl Becker; 02-01-2009 at 09:18 PM.
Carl Becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 03:22 AM   #6
woody_k
still learnin'
 
woody_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beaumont, ca
Posts: 83
Default

Loyd, This is something I also struggle with. I have had from at least 3 people from 2 different sites and I am doing better with it but sometimes the compression is to much and ruins what I did, so I start over and try a different quality. I use photoshop Elements 5.
__________________
Ken Woodford


Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!

Another site where I only upload what I think is the better images Flickr
woody_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 09:12 PM   #7
GMEMD
Member
 
GMEMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 88
Default

I just recently got a copy of CS3, and when i open an image (Raw or Jpeg) I have this problem very bad. Not sure how to fix it.
GMEMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.