Old 04-05-2016, 03:31 AM   #1
Will Jordan

Default Mundane...

I'm still very new to the hobby and to photography... I'm 14 and have a lot to learn. But I notice two classes of people on RP. You have your "photographers" and you have your "railfans". The photographers naturally being more creative, doing stuff with long exposures that are out of the norm and your railfans; who typically shoot more wedges and rosters and tend to have a fairly consistent flow of mundaness. In my case, I would love to begin making the shift from railfan to photographer, and eliminate mundane photos from my future uploads. My account is full of wedges and rosters... I'd love to hear some tips, tricks, stories, or whatever you have to share to help me become more creative and well rounded with rail photography.

Here's the link to my account: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=69347

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Last edited by Will Jordan; 04-05-2016 at 04:47 AM. Reason: Link doesn't show. I'm very new..sorry. Please help if possible.
Will Jordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 03:56 AM   #2
Freericks
Met Fan

Can't see the link, but I am extremely impressed by your aspiration at your age. I am honestly much more of a railfan than photographer, but I too aspire. That being said, I would really suggest that you start by copying those images that really stir you. If there is blue hour, tiny train in scenery, or other "arsty" images you like - study them and see if you can duplicate them (in your party of the country).

All the greats learn by starting off imitating those that they think are great.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 03:59 AM   #3
Will Jordan

Thanks! I'm trying to figure out the issue with the link.
Old 04-05-2016, 04:01 AM   #4
Noct Foamer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Jordan View Post
(1) But I notice two classes of people on RP. You have your "photographers" and you have your "railfans".