Old 05-25-2009, 12:50 AM   #1
Doug Wolfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 181
Default Digitally Manipulated

Never got this one before:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=688521&key=0

I shot a sequence of shots of this train and picked this shot. I leveled & sharpened. Not sure exactly what digitally manipulated means in this case. Also, the EXIF data was available.

Ah, what did I digitally manipulate so I don't do it again?
Doug Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 01:10 AM   #2
Warren
Senior Member
 
Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 287
Send a message via MSN to Warren
Default

Looks overexposed and there are some strange looking light gray rectangles in the sky just above the locomotive.
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Click Here to view my videos at rail-videos.net
My webshots photos
Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 01:49 AM   #3
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

The rectangles are from jpeg compression, you might want to re-edit from the original, darken a bit, and and save it with minimal compression.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 01:58 AM   #4
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,038
Default

As noted... you have JPeG compression (look at the sign and the numbr boards). Also, that space right above the locomotive looks like it was painted, as it does not match the rest of the sky.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 02:29 AM   #5
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,885
Default

It looks to me like Charles is right, like you cloned out some dust spots or something. Since you said you didn't, I don't know what to say other than ask if it could be a camera or post processing mishap.

There are other issues with the shot once you get past the dig manip thing. The shot does not go by the Rules of Thirds for one.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 04:00 AM   #6
Doug Wolfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Actually I did eliminate some dust spots. Forgot about that. O.k. gentlemen...thanks for the advice.

I kind of laughed when it said digitally manipulated because my 12 year old shows me how to operate a computer half the time...so I was rather stumped on how I did it.

Thanks again!!!!
Doug Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 05:31 AM   #7
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,038
Default

Doug,

I think it's easily saved... go back to the original and use the clone tool to get rid of the dust spots (whatever you did to do it looks odd).

Then, don't compress so much on the final JPeG.

Charles
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 05:33 AM   #8
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Actually I did eliminate some dust spots. Forgot about that.
Oh, heh, yeah, dust spots. Oops...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.