RailPictures.Net Forums

RailPictures.Net Forums (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/index.php)
-   Railroad Photography Forum (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   T1i or T2i? (camera question) (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/showthread.php?t=13263)

GuilfordRailSD45 12-24-2010 09:34 PM

T1i or T2i? (camera question)
 
Hello Everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the proper area of the forum to post this question in, but I believe I've seen similar questions posted in this area.

Anyways, I just received a Canon EOS Rebel T1i for Christmas, along with a 55-250 mm lens.

Now, I have two choices - I can keep the T1i, or I can give my father $100 to instead purchase the T2i.

The only real difference that I can see is the 15 megapixels of the T1i vs. the 18 megapixels of the T2i.

So I suppose my two main questions are:
1) Is there a huge noticeable difference between 15 mp and 18 mp?
2) I'd call myself an "advanced beginner" - is the T2i really worth the extra $100? (I suppose this question is pretty much based on my first question, in a sense).

That's all - Thankyou in advance for responses.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all.
-Steve

Soo 6060 12-24-2010 09:50 PM

It depends on what you want to do with your photos. If you just want to submit them to railpictures.net, then stick with your camera.

Now, say if you wanted to make large blow-ups of your photos for say, a model railroad backdrop, your going to want more pixels.

That 55-250 EF-S IS lens is really nice, by the way. I love mine.

GLC 392 12-24-2010 10:14 PM

I have the T1i and i really like it, it does just fine for what i do with it. The 55-250 is not a bad lens but it does act up every now when its trying to find what it wants to focus on. Even with the kit 18-55 lens you can do some pretty awesome stuff.

Here are a couple of shots i took with the 18-55

http://www.railpictures.net/images/d...1289705607.jpg

http://www.railpictures.net/images/d...1293127876.jpg

JRMDC 12-24-2010 10:49 PM

Steven, you need to learn how to link to your RP images. You get more views, we get to see the caption and other info.

{photoid=349370} except use a square bracket on each end


[photoid=349370]
[photoid=345147]

GLC 392 12-24-2010 11:36 PM

Thanks, i get a brain fart when posting the photo links.

Northern Limits 12-25-2010 12:52 AM

I have a T1i that serves me well, once I learned its idiosyncrasies. (Check my pics from the last year.)
If you plan on shooting any video you may want to go for the T2i. You can't adjust the zoom with the T1i while shooting video.

JimThias 12-25-2010 12:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soo 6060 (Post 127110)
It depends on what you want to do with your photos. If you just want to submit them to railpictures.net, then stick with your camera.

Now, say if you wanted to make large blow-ups of your photos for say, a model railroad backdrop, your going to want more pixels.

That 55-250 EF-S IS lens is really nice, by the way. I love mine.

15mp is probably more than plenty for large prints. I had a 24x36 print made from my 350D (8mp) and it looks like it came from a film image.

Soo 6060 12-25-2010 01:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimThias (Post 127131)
15mp is probably more than plenty for large prints. I had a 24x36 print made from my 350D (8mp) and it looks like it came from a film image.

Maybe with the 18mp, he will want to make bill-board adds? :lol:

JimThias 12-25-2010 04:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soo 6060 (Post 127133)
Maybe with the 18mp, he will want to make bill-board adds? :lol:

There you go! :-D

GuilfordRailSD45 12-25-2010 07:07 PM

I would like to say thankyou to everyone for the input. I've decided to stick with the T1i, and I'm sure I'll be more than happy with it.
I'd love to go out right now and try and shoot some Pan Am (Guilford, whatever ya call it) action, but something tells me I will not have much luck on Christmas day (The Big G is slow enough as is :grin: )

Drew.Sabens 12-26-2010 04:31 PM

T1i to T2i not a big enough jump to be worth it. If you were going to make a jump I would go to one of the prosumer bodies, aka the new 60 (dad just got one of them and its nice)

Save your $$ and get your self a few nice L glass lenses as good glass will help you take better photos then a better body.

Justin Franz 12-28-2010 01:49 AM

Good choice with sticking with the T1i. I got one this past summer before a big road trip since I wanted to have a back up. It's a nice camera, but I'm still using my XTi as my primary camera, mainly because I know it better! One issue I have had is that the color on my T1i seems a little two vibrant (espec. clear blue skies which come out a little too blue for my taste.)

Other then that, It's a good body. Here's an image I got with it this past summer.

[photoid=331725]

Justin Franz

milwman 12-28-2010 09:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew.Sabens (Post 127194)
T1i to T2i not a big enough jump to be worth it. If you were going to make a jump I would go to one of the prosumer bodies, aka the new 60 (dad just got one of them and its nice)

Save your $$ and get your self a few nice L glass lenses as good glass will help you take better photos then a better body.

Right on the mark, If your goal is sharp photos the best glass is needed, Camera body's wont do it! You can by a $7000 1Ds MK3 and put a cheep lens on it and it wont look better then the shots you're getting with a T1i ! With the same lens. 12 MP is more then plenty to do what you need.

milwman 12-28-2010 09:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Justin Franz (Post 127355)
One issue I have had is that the color on my T1i seems a little two vibrant (espec. clear blue skies which come out a little too blue for my taste.)


Justin Franz

Thats in the settings, Your shooting jpeg so find picture style and find "Faithful". The camera comes set for the snap shot and print shooters :grin:

Joe the Photog 12-28-2010 03:38 PM

It's silly to have a T1i, but use an older generation camera because of color issues. First, stop shooting on JPEG. No color issues like that in RAW. Second, any color issues you have can be fixed easily in post processing. That's like having two trucks. One is a 4X4 and the other is not. But when it snows you don't use the 4X4 because you can't control the temperature inside the car.

Joe the Photog 12-28-2010 03:39 PM

I said "on JPEG" but meant "only JPEG." Same difference.

troy12n 12-28-2010 03:46 PM

Megapixels are overrated. Look into the other differences if any between the 2 cameras.

None of my photos are taken with more than 12mp camera. Personally I would rather have a used 40d than any rebel...

JimThias 12-28-2010 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joe the Photog (Post 127387)
I said "on JPEG" but meant "only JPEG." Same difference.

You CAN edit your posts, ya know. ;)

BarrySr 12-28-2010 04:33 PM

Jim, Joe is still busy trying to find the duce option in Photoshop, so he can properly re-duce the image size.

Hi, Joe! Great post on fb! lol.

Joe the Photog 12-28-2010 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarrySr (Post 127393)
Jim, Joe is still busy trying to find the duce option in Photoshop, so he can properly re-duce the image size.

Hi, Joe! Great post on fb! lol.

:roll:

Thanks, Barry! Glad you got a kick out of it!

IHapsias 12-28-2010 10:10 PM

Ironically enough, i was in the same debate ( except it was GETTING the T2i or T1i ).. I was looking at the T2i since it has the video capabilities and 18 MP. Thanks for the information everyone.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.